Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
The Office for Standards in Education has announced the 12 local ...
The Office for Standards in Education has announced the 12 local

education authorities to be inspected in the spring term

of 2004. The LEAs will be inspected by Ofsted in conjunction with

the Audit Commission.

They are: Barnsley MBC; Brighton & Hove City Council;

Buckinghamshire CC; Cambridgeshire CC; York City Council; East Riding

of Yorkshire Council; Halton BC; Lancashire CC; Lewisham LBC; North

Yorkshire CC; Nottingham City Council and Worcestershire CC.

The second cycle of LEA inspections began in January 2002. The LEAs

to be inspected in the autumn term 2003 have already been announced.

The 12 LEAs named above will be inspected under the terms of the

Framework for the Inspection of Local Education Authorities, that

will come into effect from January 2004. The new Framework, a draft

of which will be issued for consultation later in the summer, will

enable inspectors to focus on areas of concern and best practice

identified in earlier Ofsted inspection reports.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.