Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
Scottish secretary Donald Dewar has announced his decision to retain the Scottish Economic Council and to appoint e...
Scottish secretary Donald Dewar has announced his decision to retain the Scottish Economic Council and to appoint eight new members.

Mr Dewar said:

'I have decided to retain the Scottish Economic Council which I see as a potentially valuable source of views on current developments in the Scottish economy.

'The size of membership will not be significantly altered, but there is a need for individuals with experience in certain sectors not currently represented or under-represented, such as finance, inward investment, telecommunications, business management and the media to be appointed.

'To achieve this seven members have been retired from the Scottish Economic Council and eight business people have accepted invitations to join. Twenty four business people have been asked to continue their membership.

'The question of an individual's views on topics such as devolution were not a relevant consideration. Indeed the overall composition of the Scottish Economic Council suggests that all sides of the devolution argument are represented'.

Highland Council convenor and COSLA Independent vice president Peter Peacock is a member.


1. The Scottish Economic Council was first established in 1971.

Its function is to provide advice to the Secretary of State on a range of policy issues related to Scotland's economic performance.

2. The next meeting of the council is on September 19, 1997.

3. Changes to membership have been made regularly by previous

secretaries of state. For example, the previous secretary of state

stood down nine members in February 1996 and appointed ten new

members. A list of members currently appointed to the SCC is

attached. Asterix indicates new appointee.

1. James G Adamson

2. Rae Angus

3. Campbell Christie

4. Andrew Dewar-Durie*

5. Margaret Ford

6. Bill Furness*

7. Ronald Garrick

8. Mary Harrison

9. Brian Ivory

10. Barbara Kelly

11. Moir Lockhead

12. Maitland Mackie

13. George Mathewson

14. Donald MacKay

15. Gus Macdonald*

16. Eric Milligan, Lord Provost

17. A Fraser Morrison

18. Y Niwa*

19. Mike Pacitti*

20. Councillor Peter Peacock

21. Ian Preston

22. Mike Ross*

23. Ian Russell*

24. Elisabeth Sharpe

25. John Shaw

26. Richard Shaw

27. Heather Sheerin

28. Brian J Stewart

29. Alan C M Tripp

30. Donald Turner

31. John Ward

32. Ian Wood

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.