Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
The London assembly has appointed 11 members to lead a new streamlined structure to campaign more effectively for L...
The London assembly has appointed 11 members to lead a new streamlined structure to campaign more effectively for Londoners and deliver better scrutiny of the mayor.

Last month the assembly took the decision to streamline the way its committees operate, making them more responsive to events across the capital. Under the new arrangements, the committees will conduct comprehensive investigations and continue to promote economic development, wealth creation, social development and improve the environment.

The following assembly members were appointed to chair committees during 2002/03:

John Biggs Transport Committee

Andrew Pelling Public Services Committee

Jennette Arnold Culture, Sport and Tourism Committee

Mike Tuffrey Economic and Social Development Committee

Samantha Heath Environment Committee

Elizabeth Howlett Health Committee

Bob Neill Planning and Spatial Development Committee

Trevor Phillips Business Management and Appointments Committee

Sally Hamwee Budget Committee

Andrew Pelling Audit Panel

Jenny Jones Standards Committee

Trevor Phillips, chair of the London assembly, said: 'Over the past two years, assembly members have successfully held the mayor to account, conducted investigations, scrutinised issues, and made recommendations that have improved the lives of Londoners. However, the new assembly structure will allow us to campaign better on issues on behalf of Londoners, and our investigative powers can now be used more effectively to keep a check on the mayor and his advisors.'

In addition, some current investigative committees established by the assembly over the last year will continue their investigations and publish a report on completion.

These committees are as follows:

Access to Primary Health Care Advisory Committee (Joint scrutiny with the mayor's office)

Flooding Investigative Committee

London Weighting Advisory Panel

The Tube Future Priorities Investigative Committee

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.