Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
LGA representative on the Health and Safety Executive/Local Authority liaison committee and Kirkless MBC environmen...
LGA representative on the Health and Safety Executive/Local Authority liaison committee and Kirkless MBC environment and transportation director Janet Russell has been reappointed has been reappointed to the better regulation task force.

Cabinet Office minister Lord Macdonald said that of the 15 appointments announced today, nine are members whose previous tenure expired on 31 March and six are new. All the members have been appointed for two years and are unpaid.

The task force, established in September 1997, is an independent body

advising government on action to ensure that regulation and its

enforcement accord with the principles of good regulation. Since its

establishment it has produced 20 substantive reports, making well

over 300 recommendations to government. Only nine of these have been


Lord Macdonald said:

'These high calibre appointments are a sign of this government's

continued commitment to the regulatory reform agenda. I look forward

to the task force building on the excellent work undertaken and

successes achieved over the last 4-1/2 years. I am sure that, under

the stewardship of the new chair, David Arculus, the task force will

go from strength to strength.'

Mr Arculus added:

'I am particularly pleased that the task force members - both those

re-appointed and those appointed for the first time - come from such

a wide variety of backgrounds. They will bring an outstanding breadth

of experience and expertise to the work of the task force. I look

forward to working with them all'.

At present, the task force is carrying out reviews of employment law;

local delivery of central policy; higher education; and science and

technology. Mr Arculus is consulting stakeholders about the task

force's next work programme and will make an announcement in the



1. The better regulation task force was established in 1997. It is

an independent body that advises government on action to ensure that

regulation and its enforcement accord with the five principles of good

regulation: transparency, accountability, proportionality,

consistency, and targeting.

2. The appointment of the task force members was made in accordance

with the commissioner for public appointments' Code of Practice and

was subject to independent scrutiny.

3. Nominations for the posts were sought from a wide range of

sources including business representative bodies, trade federations,

the TUC, public and voluntary sector organisations; and women's and

ethnic minority business groups and the public appointments unit.

4. Mr Arculus was appointed chair of the task force on 13 March

2002 and took up his post on 1 April 2002. His appointment is for three

years and is unpaid. David is non-executive chairman of Severn Trent

plc and of Earls Court & Olympia and a non-executive director of

Barclays plc, Geest plc and Oxford University Press. Until last year

he was chairman of consumer magazine publishers, the IPC

Group Ltd.

5. The task force members appointed for the first time are:

Michael Gibbons

Michael Gibbons was director of UK Communications at PowerGen until

February 2002 and has a background in the energy sector and

experience of related regulated utilities.

Kevin Hawkins

Kevin Hawkins is director of communications for Safeway Stores plc

and a director of the British Retail Consortium.

Sukhvinder Stubbs

Sukhvinder Stubbs is director of the Barrow Cadbury Trust, a grant

making foundation that seeks to encourage a just, peaceful and

democratic society. She is also a board director of Advantage West

Midlands, the Regional Development Agency, and was formerly chair of

the European Network Against Racism and chief executive of the

Runnymede Trust

Tim Sweeney

Tim Sweeney holds a number of non-executive and voluntary posts. His

background is in banking and, until, 2001, he was Director General of

the British Bankers' Association.

Rex Symons

Rex Symons is chairman of Bournemouth Primary Care NHS Trust,

Bournemouth Transport Ltd and Dorset Travel Ltd. He is a member of

the council of Southampton University and was, until earlier this

year, a member of the Health and Safety Commission.

Barbara Thomas

Barbara Thomas is executive chair of Private Equity Investor plc,

deputy chair of Friends' Provident plc, non-executive chair of Axon

Group plc and a non-executive director of Capital Radio plc and

Allders plc. She has a background in company law and financial


6. The re-appointed task force members are:

Matti Alderson

Matti Alderson is a director of FireHorses Ltd, a management

consultancy specialising in regulatory policy and strategy in the UK

and Europe. She is also a commissioner of the Press Complaints

Commission. Matti was previously director general of the Advertising

Standards Authority.

Stephen Falder

Stephen Falder is marketing director of HMG Paints Ltd, a

medium-sized manufacturer of industrial surface coatings. He is a CBI

regional councillor and a member of the CBI SME Council.

Teresa Graham

Teresa Graham is a partner in Baker Tilly, chartered accountants,

specialising in providing business advice to ambitious, growing SMEs.

She is also a non-executive member of the steering board of the

department of trade and industry's small business service and chair

of their Audit Committee.

Deirdre Hutton

Deirdre Hutton is chair of the National Consumer Council. She is

also vice-chair of the Scottish Environmental Protection Agency and a

non-executive director of the Financial Services Authority. Deirdre

was recently appointed chair of the steering group for the Food Chain


Simon Petch

Simon Petch is general secretary of Connect, the trade union for

professionals in the communications sector.

Ian Peters

Ian Peters is director of external affairs and marketing at the

Engineering Employers' Federation. Ian was previously deputy director

general of the British Chambers of Commerce and deputy director and

head of SME policy at the CBI. Ian is a member of the advisory boards

of Middlesex University Business School and Durham University

Foundation for SME Development.

Dr Penelope Rowlatt

Penelope Rowlatt is a freelance economist trading under the name of

Alexander Economics. She was previously a director of Europe

Economics, a director of the National Economic Research Associates

and senior economic adviser at the department of energy.

Janet Russell

Janet Russell is director of environment and transportation at

Kirklees MBC. She is also the LGA representative on the Health and Safety Executive/Local Authority liaison committee and a local government adviser on public


Simon Ward

Simon Ward is a self-employed advisor to the hospitality sector. He

is also a non-executive director of the leisure and lifestyle

division of the accountants Robson Rhodes. Simon is a director of the

Consumer Policy Institute and of Greater London Enterprise. Until

last year, he was group strategic affairs director for Whitbread.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.