Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
Council tax in six London boroughs is due to rise by double figures for the year 2001-02. ...
Council tax in six London boroughs is due to rise by double figures for the year 2001-02.
Only two councils out of those who had decided their figure this time last year
broke the double figure barrier. LGC research shows the highest council tax increase is 14% from Wandsworth LBC, followed by 12.4% from Havering LBC.
Increases were forced up thanks to the Greater London Authority's precept, which increased by 22% -£150.88 for Band D. Newham LBC's 9% increase would have been 4.9% without the precept, while Barnet LBC's 7.3% increase would have been 4.5%.
But there still would have been at least two councils with double-figure increases.
The lowest increase is 1.3% from the Southwark LBC, followed by Croydon LBC with 2%, while Islington LBC managed to decrease its tax with a cut of 1.2%.
The average increase is 7.8%, including the Corporation of London which escaped most of the precept as it runs its own police service. The average council tax for the capital will be£842.49. Four councils did not supply complete figures.
-Band D figures across London
Borough- BandD + precept - %inc precept

Corporation of London£579.764.1
Barking & Dagenham£848.43* 8.5
Barnet £874.29 7.3
Bexley £882 00 9.9
Brent £799.49* 8.1
Bromley £826.38 12.3
Camden £949.87 4.8
Croydon £823.87 2.0
Ealing £823.45 8.9
Enfield £884.73 11.0
Greenwich £911.25* 3.1
Hackney £922.83* n/a
Hammersmith & Fulham£923.29 5.1
Haringey £960 00 3.0
Harrow £850.00* 12.0
Havering £959.00* 12.4

Borough - BandD + precept - %inc precept

Hounslow £954.40 n/a
Islington £877.00 -1.2
Kensington & Chelsea£688.88 12.0
Kingston upon Thames£946.60* 9.7
Lewisham £876.77 9.8
Merton £813.66* 11.3
Newham £827.66* 9.0
Redbridge £864.04* 6.5
Richmond £998.64 9.9
Southwark £856.39* 1.3
Sutton £872.64* 9.7
Tower Hamlets £781.00 7.4
Waltham Forest £928.11 * 5.8
Wandsworth £452 00 14.0
Westminster £410.00* 9.3
  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.