Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment

Environment minister Robert Jones has announced the chairman and membership of the Water Regulations Advisory Committee (WRAC). Mr Jones said:

'Professor John Swaffield of Heriot - Watt University, Edinburgh, has accepted my invitation to chair the Water Regulations Advisory Committee. I have now formally appointed Profr Swaffield and ten members of the committee, whose names appear below.

'The committee's terms of reference are to advise the secretary of state for the environment on the requirements for plumbing installations and fittings to be included in Water Regulations made under powers in section 74 of the water Industry Act 1991 and on other technical matters connected with the regulations.

'The Regulations will deal with contamination, waste, undue consumption and misuse of water in premises. As part of their remit the committee will also consider the requirements for water usage by fittings and appliances. This will include advice on such things as WC flush volumes and water used by washing machines and dishwashers.

Chairman: Prof. J A Swaffield

Members: Mr J A Andrew Dr J Hall

Mrs B M Bickley Mr P W Herbertson

Mr S B Butler Mr G Marsh

Mr R F Clayton Mr J Roy

Mr P Crane Mr M A Rymill.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.