Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
By Mark Smulian...
By Mark Smulian

The final shape of all but one of Scotland's council administrations became known today, as the Convention of Scottish Local Authorities held its first meeting since the 3 May elections.

These were held under the single transferable vote system of proportional representations, which left all but five councils under no overall control.

Coalitions have formed involving almost all permutations of Scotland's four main parties and independents.

These include a Conservative and Labour joint administration at East Dunbartonshire Council, and two cases of four-way ruling groups.

Labour, the Liberal Democrats and the Scottish National Party are each involved in 12 administrations, Independents in 11 and Conservatives in seven.

Although Labour has secured minority control of some councils, the main effect of proportional representation has been to drive the party from its former local government bastions across central Scotland.

Scottish council administrations

Aberdeen: Lib Dem & SNP

Aberdeenshire: Lib Dem & Con

Angus: Con & Ind & LD & Lab

Argyll and Bute: Ind & SNP

Clackmannanshire: Lab

Dumfries and Galloway Con & LD

Dundee: Lab & LD

East Ayrshire: SNP

East Dunbartonshire Lab & Con

East Lothian SNP & LD

East Renfrewshire Lab & SNP & LD & Ind

Edinburgh: LD & SNP

Falkirk: Lab

Fife: SNP &Lib Dems

Glasgow: Lab*

Highland: SNP & Ind

Inverclyde: Lab

Midlothian: Lab

Moray: Ind & Con

North Ayrshire: Lab

North Lanarkshire: Lab*

Orkney: Ind*

Perth and Kinross SNP & LD

Renfrewshire: SNP & LD

Scottish Borders: Con & LD & Ind

Shetland: Ind*

South Ayrshire: Con

South Lanarkshire Lab

Stirling (decision deferred)

West Dunbartonshire SNP & Ind

West Lothian: SNP & Ind

Western Isles: Ind*

* = majority control

Policy & politics


  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.