Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
Sir Nigel Wicks, who was until last year second permanent secretary and director of international finance at the tr...
Sir Nigel Wicks, who was until last year second permanent secretary and director of international finance at the treasury, is to become chair of the Committee on Standards in Public Life, the prime minister announced yesterday. Sir Nigel, who takes up office today, will be the third holder of the post, succeeding Lord Nolan and Lord Neill of Bladen. Lord Neill retired yesterday.
Having worked for British Petroleum Ltd from 1958, and studied business administration at Portsmouth College of Technology, Sir Nigel read history at Jesus College, Cambridge from 1963 to 1966, before returning to British Petroleum for a further two years. In 1968, he joined HM Treasury, holding various positions until 1975, when he became private secretary to two successive prime ministers -
first Harold Wilson, then James (now Lord) Callaghan.
Returning to the Treasury in 1978, Sir Nigel spent five years as head of the Energy Division. From 1980 to 1982, he served on the Board of the British National Oil Corporation. Between 1983 and 1985, he was economic minister at the British Embassy in Washington, also serving as the UK executive director at the World Bank and International Monetary Fund.
In 1985, Sir Nigel was appointed principal private secretary to the prime minister, Margaret (now Baroness) Thatcher, a position he held until 1988. He was the prime minister's personal representative for the economic summits of the Group of Seven Industrialised Nations between 1988 and 1991. From 1989 to 2000, Sir Nigel was second permanent secretary and director of international finance at the treasury.
Among many senior international positions, Sir Nigel was chairman of the European Community Monetary Committee between 1993 and 1998, and, between July 2000 and February 2001, a member of the EU Committee of 'Wise Men' on European Securities Regulation.
Rabbi Julia Neuberger has been appointed to the Committee on Standards in Public Life. The appointment, announced by the prime minister, takes effect today, 1 March 2001.
Rabbi Neuberger is chief executive of the King's Fund, an independent health care charity. She was educated at Newnham College, Cambridge and Leo Baeck College, London. She became a rabbi in 1977, and served the South London Liberal Synagogue for twelve years, before going to the King's Fund Institute as a Visiting Fellow, to work on research ethics committees in the United Kingdom. Rabbi Neuberger then became a fellow at Harvard Medical School in 1991-1992, having gone to the United States on a Harkness Fellowship. She was Chairman of Camden & Islington Community Health Services NHS Trust from April 1993 until November 1997.
Rabbi Neuberger is a member of the General Medical Council and a Trustee of the Imperial War Museum. She was formerly a trustee of the Runnymede Trust and a member of the Board of Visitors of Memorial Church, Harvard University. She holds honorary doctorates from nine universities, is an honorary fellow of Mansfield College, Oxford and was Chancellor of the University of Ulster from 1994 - 2000. She is
also the author of several books on Judaism, women, healthcare ethics and on caring for dying people.
Rita Donaghy OBE was yesterday appointed to the Committee on Standards in Public Life. The appointment, announced by the prime minister, takes effect today, 1 March 2001.
Ms Donaghy has been Chair of ACAS, the Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service, since October 2000. Prior to that appointment, she held the office of President of the TUC 1999-2000, and was employed as Permanent Secretary of the Students' Union, Institute of Education, University of London.
Ms Donaghy has been actively involved in industrial relations in Britain for more than 30 years, beginning when she set up the clerical branch of NALGO in 1969 and later went on to become its Branch Secretary, Chair and Vice Chair between 1970 and 1985. She has served on the National Executive Council of NALGO since 1973, including a spell as President for 1989- 1990, and was a member and Chair of the merger working group which led to the formation of UNISON in 1993.
Since 1987, Ms Donaghy has been a member of the TUC's General Council and has also served on the executive of the European TUC, chaired theTUC Women's Committee and its Disabilities Forum and been a member of various TUC delegations to Ministers and the Prime Minister on fairness at work and subsequent employment legislation. She was until recently a member of the Low Pay Commission and the Equal Opportunities Commission Task Group on Equal Pay and has been on the government's Advisory Committee on Employment of People with Disabilities.
Ms Donaghy contributed to the Times Higher Educational Supplement on a regular basis and has been a frequent speaker and writer on equality issues, low pay, employment legislation and education. She was awarded the OBE in 1998 for services to industrial relations.
1. The Committee's standing terms of reference are: 'To examine current concerns about standards of conduct of all holders of public office, including arrangements relating to financial and commercial activities, and make recommendations as to any changes in present arrangements which might be required to ensure the highest standards of propriety in public life'.
On 12 November 1997 additional terms of reference for the study on the funding of political parties were announced by the prime minister as:
'To review issues in relation to the funding of political parties, and to make recommendations as to arrangements'.
The committee has no power to investigate specific allegations of misconduct. The Committee's first Chairman, Lord Nolan, was appointed in October 1994. Lord Neill of Bladen succeeded him in November 1997.
  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.