Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
Environment Secretary, John Gummer, today announced that a further tranche of candidate Special Areas of Conservati...
Environment Secretary, John Gummer, today announced that a further tranche of candidate Special Areas of Conservation, consisting of 44 sites has been delivered to the European Commission.

In a written parliamentary reply, Mr Gummer said: 'I indicated in my written reply to my Hon Friend the Member for Hexham on 9 January 1996, that further candidate Special Areas of Conservation would be sent to the European Commission once points raised in public consultation had been considered and satisfactorily resolved. A further list of 44 sites was sent to the Commission on 14 October.

'Consideration continues to be given to the remaining sites.'

The list of sites sent to the commission is as follows:

Achmore Bog Scotland; Beinn Dearg Scotland; Beinn a'Ghlo Scotland; Beinn Iadain & Beinn na h'Uamha Scotland; Ben Alder & Aonach Beag Scotland; Ben Heasgarnich Scotland; Ben Lawers Scotland; Ben Lui Scotland; Berwickshire and North Northumberland Coast England/Scotland; Border Mires, Kielder - Butterburn England Chesil and the Fleet England Claish Moss and Kentra Moss Scotland; Coalburn Moss Scotland; Creag Meagaidh Scotland; Durness Scotland; Essex Estuaries England; Fal and Helford England; Flanders Mosses Scotland; Loch Eport Lagoons Scotland;

Loch Maddy Scotland; Loch of Stenness Scotland; Loch Roag Lagoons Scotland; Loch Sunart Woodlands Scotland; Meall na Samnha Scotland; Moidach More Scotland; Monach Islands Scotland; Moray Firth (marine) Scotland; Morecambe Bay England; Mousa Scotland; North Harris Scotland; North Rona Scotland; North Uist Machair Scotland; Papa Stour Scotland; Plymouth Sound and Estuaries England; Solent and Isle of Wight Lagoons England; Solway Firth England/Scotland; Solway Mosses (part) England; Sound of Arisaig Scotland; South Uist Machair Scotland; St Kilda Scotland; Thanet Coast England; The Vadills Scotland; The Wash and North Norfolk Coast England; Usk Bat Sites/Safleoedd Ystlumod Wysg Wales.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.