Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Campaign of the year

  • Comment

Campaign of the year

Winner: Croydon LBC – Choose Your Future

With concerns about youth violence rising across the capital, Croydon LBC wanted to unite the borough, give young people a voice and bring about positive change. The council wanted its campaign to be a force for good, highlighting and encouraging the inspired life choices young people make, and it wanted a true partnership approach, to show young people they are Croydon’s top priority. Still in its infancy, the campaign continues to grow but much has been achieved: more than 3,000 conversations with young people; support from 100-plus organisations; and a 13% decrease in knife crime.

Highly Commended: Northamptonshire CC – One Thousand Pairs of Shoes

Judges’ comments: This is a campaign that has genuinely saved lives and made a difference.


Basildon BC: Rent First

Cheshire West & Chester Council: Fostering

Havering LBC: Veggie Run

Kent CC: Speak Out

Lancashire CC: Lancashire Lifesavers

North East Lincolnshire Council: Insight-led marketing

Swindon BC: Voter ID

Waltham Forest LBC: Winning London Borough of Culture 2019


David Holdstock, director of communications, Local Government Association

Aidan Rave, chief executive, South Kesteven DC

Paul Robinson, chief executive, Worcestershire CC

Andrew Travers, chief executive, Lambeth LBC

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.