Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Council of the year

  • 1 Comment

sponsored by Zurich Municipal

Winner: Wigan MBC

Next year will mark five years since Wigan MBC launched its strategy to transform council services – The Deal. In that time the council has reinvented its relationship with residents, saving £130m while increasing resident satisfaction. The deal has reduced demand in children’s social services and adult social care, enabled staff to have different conversations that focus on strengths and driven integration across health and social care. A Local Government Association peer review declared it as “one of, if not the best example of changing the local citizen-state relationship”.

Judges’ comments: “This council has pioneered a new operating model, working collaboratively with its residents to make a tangible difference to their lives. Its leadership has depth and is always eager to disseminate innovation, providing a blueprint for British local government and beyond.”


A word from the award’s sponsor

Zurich Municipal is particularly proud to support the Council of the Year award in 2019 as we know how much time, effort and teamwork all the entrants have to put in. When local authorities realise their vision for positive change, the benefits are felt by thousands, if not millions, of people. This means everybody wins.


Cheshire West & Chester Council

Cornwall Council

Coventry City Council

Hull City Council

North East Lincolnshire Council


John Barradell, town clerk and chief executive, City of London Corporation

Dawn Baxendale, chief executive, Birmingham City Council

Sandra Dinneen, former chief executive, South Norfolk Council

Carolyn Downs, chief executive, Brent LBC

Nick Golding, editor, LGC

Andrew Jepp, managing director, Zurich Municipal

Joanna Killian, chief executive, Surrey CC

Mark Lloyd, chief executive, Local Government Association

Steven Pleasant, chief executive, Tameside MBC, and accountable officer, Tameside and Glossop CCG

Geoff Raw, chief executive, Brighton & Hove City Council

Joanne Roney, chief executive, Manchester City Council



  • 1 Comment

Readers' comments (1)

  • How have you voted these most incompetent people,council of the year is a disgrace, they have squandered money, allowed building on greenbelt, passed permission for a road to go dangerously close to a nature reserve, so close environmental damage is a definite, wasted millions on roads, to make congestion worse than ever, I suggest next time, you visit the councils up for the awards, ask people in Wigan what they think about this council, they don't talk to residents, they are not inclusive and are an utter disgrace, they have done nothing but kill the spirit of the town and ripped the soul out of the town centre. I have never been so disgusted at an award in my life, disgraceful.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.