Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
The panel of judges for the expanded 2001 LGC Awards for Excellence includes some of the best-known professionals i...
The panel of judges for the expanded 2001 LGC Awards for Excellence includes some of the best-known professionals in councils and industry, as well as some of local government's keenest critics.

The council of the year will be judged by Audit Commission controller Andrew Foster, Birmingham City Council chief executive Sir Michael Lyons, Local Government Association chief executive Brian Briscoe and Zurich Municipal director Eddie White.

The other LGC awards judges:

Community initiative of the year: David Henshaw, chief executive, Liverpool City Council and president, the Society of Local Authority Chief Executives; Carole Hassan, chief executive, Trafford MBC; Keith Purvis, deputy general manager of The St Paul.

Contract services team of the year: Joyce Markham, chief executive, Reading BC; John Maxted, director of operational services, Northumberland CC; Robert Smith, managing director, Hays Montrose.

Councillor development initiative of the year: Patricia Coleman, associate, the Improvement and Development Agency; Cheryl Miller, chief executive, East Sussex CC; Dennis Reed, director, the Local Government Information Unit.

Finance team of the year: Steve Bundred, chief executive, Camden LBC; Bob Kerslake, chief executive, Sheffield City Council; Susan Smith, director, Hays Accountancy Personnel Public Sector.

Housing team of the year: Brian Griffiths, director of housing services, Leicester Housing Association and president of the Institute of Housing; Margaret Vass, depute director of housing, Glasgow City Council; Frank Newell, head of product marketing, First Software.

Improving services with e-technology: Mel Usher, chief executive, the Improvement and Development Agency; Barry Quirk, chief executive, Lewisham LBC; Ian Cockerall, divisional manager, public sector SAP.

Innovation of the year: Viv Sugar, chief executive, City & County of Swansea Council; Douglas Sinclair, chief executive, Fife Council; John Farrell, strategic partnering, Xerox.

Legal team of the year: Peter Bounds, consultant and former chief executive of Liverpool City Council; George Krawiec, town clerk, Southend-on-Sea BC; Arthur Morris, director, Risk Management Partners.

Management team of the year: David Clark, chief executive, City of York Council; Wendy Thomson, director of inspection, Audit Commission; Steve Crabbe, general manager, BT local and regional government.

Personnel team of the year: Terry Gorman, head of personnel and corporate services, Nottinghamshire CC and president of the Society of Chief Personnel Officers; Charles Nolda, executive director, the Employers Organisation: John Tarrant, chief operating officer, TMP Worldwide.

Public/private partnership of the year: Peter Rogers, chief executive, Westminster City Council; Lucy de Groot, director, HM Treasury public services directorate; John McLeod, sales director, Vertex.

Public relations team of the year: Carol Grant, consultant and former director of communications at the LGA; Phill Swann, current director of communications at the LGA; Adrian Roxan, managing director, Citigate Westminster.

Social services team of the year: Denise Platt, chief inspector, HM Social Services Inspectorate; Judith Hunt, consultant and former director of the Local Government Management Board; Fraser McCluskey, managing director, OLM Consulting.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.