Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
(see also LGCNet 'Industry minister announces UK's lists for European funds.') ...
(see also LGCNet 'Industry minister announces UK's lists for European funds.')



Durham: Whole county, except Teesdale district part of Darlington TTWA (being proposed for objective 5 (b))

Northumberland: Alnwick and Amble and Morpeth and Ashington TTWAs; Northumberland part of Newcastle-upon-Tyne TTWA.

Cleveland and Tyne and Wear: whole counties

Greater Manchester: the parts of Bolton and Bury, Rochdale and Wigan and St Helen's TTWAs; whole of Manchester TTWA except certain wards in Stockport and Trafford.

Cheshire: Widnes and Runcorn TTWA; Cheshire parts of Wirral and Chester and Liverpool TTWAs.

Lancashire: the parts of Liverpool, Wigan and St Helen's, Bolton and Bury and Rochdale TTWAs in Lancashire; Blackburn, Burnley (except Sebden ward, being proposed for objective 5b) and Accrington and Rossendale TTWAs; most of Lancaster and Morecambe and Pendle TTWAs (the remainder proposed for ojective 5b); parts of Preston-Chorley- South Ribble districts; Fleetwood fishing port.

Cumbria: Barrow-in-Furness, Workington and Whtiehaven TTWAs.

Humbreside: Hull TTWA, the parts of Goole and Selby, Grimsby, Scunthorpe and Doncaster TTWAs in Humberside.

South Yorkshire: whole county

West Yorkshire: Bradford, Calderdale and Wakefield and Deswbury TTWAs; west Yorkshire part of Castleford and Pontegract TTWA; parts of Huddersfield, Keighley and Leeds.

North Yorkshire: the parts of Castleford and Pontefract, Goole and Selby, Darlington and Middlesborough TTWAs in north Yorkshire.


Derbyshire: Chesterfield TTWA, parts of Nottingham, Mansfield, Alfreton and Ashfield TTWAs, Dronfield (NE Derbyshire District), parts of Derby.

Leicestershire: parts of Leicester

Lincolnshire: parts of Gainsborough, Grimsby and Scunthorpe TTWAs.

Staffordshire: parts of Birmingham, Walsall and Wolverhampton TTWAs in Stafordshire; parts of Stoke and Newcastle-under-Lyme, Burton on Trent and Regeley, Kinver and Stourton wards in Dudley and Sandwell TTWA.

Shropshire: parts of Wrekin district, Shropshire part of Wolverhampton TTWA.

Nottinghamshire: Retford TTWA: parts of Alfreton and Ashfield, Mansifeld, Gainsborough, Nottingham (except Rushcliffe) and Worksop TTWAs in Nottinhamshire.

West Midlands: whole county

Warwickshire: part of Coventry and Hinckley TTWA in Warwickshire, parts of Birminghamn and Burton on Trent TTWAs in North Warwickshire district

Hereford and Worcester: Uffdown ward in Bromsgrove district.


London: including the whole of the Islington, Tower Hamlets, Newham and Hackney, parts of the boroughs of Barking and Dagenham, Bexley, Camden, Enfield, Greenwich, Haringey, Havering, Lambeth, Lewisham, Southwark, Waltham Forest, Brent and selected wards in Ealing, Hammersmith and Fulham, Kensington and Chelsea.

East Thames corridor: parts of Dartford, Gravesham, Rochester upon Medway, Gillingham, Swale (all Kent) and Thurrock (Essex).

Essex: Clacton TTWA and Harwich East Ward and parts of East Thames corridor, parts of Southend on Sea

Suffolk: Lowestoft. Norfolk: Great Yarmouth. East Sussex: parts of Brighton and Hove. Isle of Wight: whole island. Hampshire: parts of Portsmouth. Avon: parts of Bristol. Dorset: Weymouth and Portland. Devon/Cornwall: parts of Plymouth. Bedfordshire: parts of Luton. Kent: Thanet TTWA, parts of East Thames corridor.


Central: Alloa and Falkirk TTWAs and certain wards of Stirling.

Fife: Kircaldy and Dunfermline TTWAs and East Neuk fishing port.

Strathclyde: Ayr, Dumbarton, Girvan, Glasgow, Greenock, Irvine, and Lanarkshire TTWA within Strathclyde region.

Dumfries and Galloway: part of Cumnock and Sanquhar TTWA.

Lothian: parts of Edinburgh: Greater Hailes, Pilton, Muirhouse, Granton, Craigmillar, Niddrie, Protobello and Leith and Central East Edinburgh. Bathgate TTWA, Midlothian district and remainder of Lothain RECHAR area.

Tayside: Dundee and Arbroath TTWAs.


Gwent: Newport and Pontypool and Cwmbran TTWAs; part of Merthyr and Rhymney and Blaenau and Abergavenny TTWAs in Gwent.

Mid Glamorgan: whole county

South Glamorgan: part of the Cardiff TTWA

West Glamorgan: whole county

Dyfed: Llanelli TTWA; Dyfed part of Swansea TTWA

Powys: the parts of Blaenau Gwent and Abergavenny, Swansea and Aberdare TTWAs in Powys.

Clwyd: parts of Wrexham Maelor, Rhuddlan, Delyn and Alyn and Deeside districts


South West: whole of Cornwall and Scilly Isles, except part of Plymouth TTWA in Cornwall; Devon, excluding Plymouth urban area and Newton Abbot, Honiton and Axminster, and Exeter TTWAs (also excluding all of Torbay TTWA other than Brixham); the Exmoor part of Somerset

Wales: the current objective 5(b) area (in Dyfed, Gwynedd and Powys) plus the rest of Gwynedd and the Colwyn and Glydwr districts in Clwyd

The Marches: The Marches bed area (rural parts of Shropshire and Hereford and Worcester bordering on Wales

The English Midland Uplands: an area centred upon the Derbyshire and STaffordshire peak district

East Anglia: parts of rural central Norfold; the Waveney valley in northern Suffolk; part of Funland district in Cambridgeshire and Norfold

Lincolnshire: the rural north-eastern half of the county, excluding the objective 2 regions in the north, also excluding Boston and Lincoln

The English Northern Uplands: the Yorkshire Moors and Dales (excluding Skipton town), upland Lancashire, Cumbria and Northumberland, as well as the upland part of the Darlington TTWA in County Durham.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.