Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
Local authority political control as at 2 May 1997. ...
Local authority political control as at 2 May 1997.

LGCNet plans to provide further data, including a breakdown on seats for each political group for each authority, shortly.

NB This list is for current control only and does not include authorities that will have unitary status on 1 April 1998.

Authority Controlling Group


Adur Ldem

Allerdale Lab

Alnwick Noc

Amber Valley Lab

Arun Con

Ashfield Lab

Ashford Noc

Aylesbury Vale LDem

Babergh Noc

Barking and Dagenham Lab

Barnet Noc

Barnsley Lab

Barrow-in-Furness Lab

Basildon Lab

Basingstoke and Deane Noc

Bassetlaw Lab

Bath & North East Somerset Noc

Bedford Noc

Bedfordshire Con

Berkshire Noc

Berwick-upon-Tweed Noc

Bexley Noc

Birmingham Lab

Blaby Noc

Blackburn Lab

Blackpool Lab

Blyth Valley Lab

Bolsover Lab

Bolton Lab

Boston Noc

Bournemouth Noc

Bracknell Forest Lab

Bradford Lab

Braintree Lab

Breckland Noc

Brent Noc

Brentwood LDem

Bridgnorth Ind

Brighton & Hove Lab

Bristol Lab

Broadland Noc

Bromley Con

Bromsgrove Lab

Broxbourne Con

Broxtowe Lab

Buckinghamshire Con

Burnley Lab

Bury Lab

Calderdale Lab

Cambridge Lab

Cambridgeshire Con

Camden Lab

Cannock Chase Lab

Canterbury Noc

Caradon Noc

Carlisle Lab

Carrick Noc

Castle Morpeth Noc

Castle Point Lab

Charnwood Lab

Chelmsford LDem

Cheltenham LDem

Cherwell Lab

Cheshire Lab

Chester Noc

Chesterfield Lab

Chester-le-Street Lab

Chichester Noc

Chiltern Noc

Chorley Lab

Christchurch Noc

City of London Oth

Colchester LDem

Congleton LDem

Copeland Lab

Corby Lab

Cornwall Noc

Cotswold Ind

Coventry Lab

Craven Noc

Crawley Lab

Crewe and Nantwich Lab

Croydon Lab

Cumbria Lab

Dacorum Lab

Darlington Lab

Dartford Lab

Daventry Noc

Derby Lab

Derbyshire Lab

Derbyshire Dales Noc

Derwentside Lab

Devon Noc

Doncaster Lab

Dorset Noc

Dover Lab

Dudley Lab

Durham Lab

Durham Lab

Ealing Lab

Easington Lab

East Cambridgeshire Ind

East Devon Noc

East Dorset LDem

East Hampshire LDem

East Hertfordshire Noc

East Lindsey Ind

East Northamptonshire Lab

East Riding of Yorkshire Noc

East Staffordshire Lab

East Sussex Noc

Eastbourne LDem

Eastleigh LDem

Eden Ind

Ellesmere Port & Neston Lab

Elmbridge Noc

Enfield Lab

Epping Forest Noc

Epsom and Ewell Rate

Erewash Lab

Essex Noc

Exeter Lab

Fareham Noc

Fenland Noc

Forest Heath Noc

Forest of Dean Lab

Fylde Noc

Gateshead Lab

Gedling Lab

Gillingham LDem

Gloucester Lab

Gloucestershire Noc

Gosport LDem

Gravesham Lab

Great Yarmouth Lab

Greenwich Lab

Guildford LDem

Hackney Lab

Halton Lab

Hambleton Noc

Hammersmith and Fulham Lab

Hampshire Con

Harborough Noc

Haringey Lab

Harlow Lab

Harrogate LDem

Harrow Noc

Hart Noc

Hartlepool Lab

Hastings LDem

Havant Noc

Havering Noc

Hereford LDem

Hereford and Worcester Noc

Hertfordshire Noc

Hertsmere Lab

High Peak Lab

Hillingdon Lab

Hinckley and Bosworth Noc

Horsham LDem

Hounslow Lab

Huntingdonshire Con

Hyndburn Lab

Ipswich Lab

Isle of Wight Council LDem

Isles of Scilly Oth

Islington Lab

Kennet Noc

Kensington and Chelsea Con

Kent Con

Kerrier Noc

Kettering Lab

King's Lynn & W Norfolk Lab

Kingston upon Hull Lab

Kingston upon Thames LDem

Kirklees Lab

Knowsley Lab

Lambeth Noc

Lancashire Lab

Lancaster Lab

Leeds Lab

Leicester Lab

Leicestershire Noc

Leominster Ind

Lewes LDem

Lewisham Lab

Lichfield Lab

Lincoln Lab

Lincolnshire Con

Liverpool Lab

Luton Lab

Macclesfield Con

Maidstone Noc

Maldon Noc

Malvern Hills Noc

Manchester Lab

Mansfield Lab

Melton Noc

Mendip Noc

Merton Lab

Mid Bedfordshire Noc

Mid Devon LDem

Mid Suffolk Noc

Mid Sussex Noc

Middlesbrough Lab

Milton Keynes Lab

Mole Valley Noc

New Forest LDem

Newark and Sherwood Lab

Newbury LDem

Newcastle upon Tyne Lab

Newcastle-under-Lyme Lab

Newham Lab

Norfolk Noc

North Cornwall Ind

North Devon LDem

North Dorset LDem

North East Derbyshire Lab

North East Lincolnshire Lab

North Hertfordshire Lab

North Kesteven Noc

North Lincolnshire Lab

North Norfolk Noc

North Shropshire Ind

North Somerset LDem

North Tyneside Lab

North Warwickshire Lab

North West Leicestershire Lab

North Wiltshire LDem

North Yorkshire Noc

Northampton Lab

Northamptonshire Lab

Northumberland Lab

Norwich Lab

Nottingham Lab

Nottinghamshire Lab

Nuneaton and Bedworth Lab

Oadby and Wigston LDem

Oldham Lab

Oswestry Noc

Oxford Lab

Oxfordshire Noc

Pendle LDem

Penwith Noc

Peterborough Lab

Plymouth Lab

Poole LDem

Portsmouth Lab

Preston Lab

Purbeck Noc

Reading Lab

Redbridge Noc

Redcar & Cleveland Lab

Redditch Lab

Reigate and Banstead Noc

Restormel LDem

Ribble Valley Noc

Richmond upon Thames LDem

Richmondshire Ind

Rochdale Lab

Rochester upon Medway Lab

Rochford LDem

Rossendale Lab

Rother Noc

Rotherham Lab

Rugby Noc

Runnymede Noc

Rushcliffe Noc

Rushmoor Noc

Rutland Ind

Ryedale Noc

Salford Lab

Salisbury LDem

Sandwell Lab

Scarborough Noc

Sedgefield Lab

Sedgemoor Noc

Sefton Noc

Selby Lab

Sevenoaks Noc

Sheffield Lab

Shepway Noc

Shrewsbury and Atcham Noc

Shropshire Noc

Slough Lab

Solihull Noc

Somerset LDem

South Bedfordshire Noc

South Bucks Noc

South Cambridgeshire Noc

South Derbyshire Lab

South Gloucestershire Noc

South Hams Noc

South Herefordshire Ind

South Holland Noc

South Kesteven Noc

South Lakeland Noc

South Norfolk LDem

South Northamptonshire Noc

South Oxfordshire Noc

South Ribble Lab

South Shropshire Ind

South Somerset LDem

South Staffordshire Con

South Tyneside Lab

Southampton Lab

Southend-on-Sea Noc

Southwark Lab

Spelthorne Con

St Albans LDem

St Edmundsbury Lab

St Helens Lab

Stafford Lab

Staffordshire Lab

Staffordshire Moorlands Noc

Stevenage Lab

Stockport Noc

Stockton-on-Tees Lab

Stoke-on-Trent Lab

Stratford-on-Avon Noc

Stroud Noc

Suffolk Noc

Suffolk Coastal Noc

Sunderland Lab

Surrey Con

Surrey Heath Con

Sutton LDem

Swale Noc

Tameside Lab

Tamworth Lab

Tandridge Noc

Taunton Deane LDem

Teesdale Ind

Teignbridge Noc

Tendring Lab

Test Valley LDem

Tewkesbury Noc

Thamesdown Lab

Thanet Lab

The Wrekin Lab

Three Rivers Noc

Thurrock Lab

Tonbridge and Malling Noc

Torbay LDem

Torridge Noc

Tower Hamlets Lab

Trafford Lab

Tunbridge Wells LDem

Tynedale Noc

Uttlesford Noc

Vale of White Horse LDem

Vale Royal Lab

Wakefield Lab

Walsall Noc

Waltham Forest Noc

Wandsworth Con

Wansbeck Lab

Warrington Lab

Warwick Noc

Warwickshire Noc

Watford Lab

Waveney Lab

Waverley LDem

Wealden Noc

Wear Valley Lab

Wellingborough Noc

Welwyn Hatfield Lab

West Devon Noc

West Dorset Noc

West Lancashire Lab

West Lindsey LDem

West Oxfordshire Noc

West Somerset Noc

West Sussex Con

West Wiltshire LDem

Westminster Con

Weymouth and Portland Noc

Wigan Lab

Wiltshire Noc

Winchester LDem

Windsor and Maidenhead LDem

Wirral Lab

Woking LDem

Wokingham LDem

Wolverhampton Lab

Worcester Lab

Worthing LDem

Wychavon Noc

Wycombe Noc

Wyre Lab

Wyre Forest Lab

York Lab.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.