Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment


Bedfordshire: Con (would have been Con before without Luton)

Buckinghamshire: Con hold

Cambridgeshire: Con gain from NOC (will stay Con when Peterborough goes on 1/4/98)

Cheshire: Lab gain from NOC (will revert to NOC when Halton and Warrington go 1/4/98)

Cornwall: NOC gain from Lib Dem

Cumbria: Lab gain from NOC

Derbyshire: LAB hold

Devon: NOC (will become Lib Dem when Plymouth and Torbay go on 1/4/98)

Dorset: NOC hold

Durham: Lab hold

East Sussex: NOC gain from 'notional' Lib Dem (would have been Lib Dem before without Brighton and Hove)

Essex: NOC (will become Con when Southend and Thurrock go 1/4/98)

Gloucestershire: NOC hold

Hampshire: Con gain from 'notional' Lib Dem (would have been Lib Dem before without Portsmouth and Southampton)

Hertfordshire: NOC hold

Kent: Con gain from NOC (will remain Con when Medway Towns departs 1/4/98)

Lancashire: Lab hold

Leicestershire: Con gain from NOC

Norfolk: NOC hold

Northamptonshire: Lab hold

Northumberland: Lab hold

North Yorkshire: NOC hold

Nottinghamshire: Lab hold

Oxfordshire: NOC hold

Shropshire: NOC hold

Somerset: Lib Dem hold

Staffordshire: Lab hold

Suffolk: NOC hold

Surrey: Con gain from NOC

Warwickshire: NOC hold

West Sussex: Con gain from NOC

Wiltshire: NOC gain from 'notional' Lib Dem (would have been Lib Dem before without Thamesdown (Swindon)

Worcestershire: NOC 'hold' (new county)


Blackburn: Lab hold

Blackpool: Lab hold

Bracknell Forest: Con gain from Lib

Halton: Lab hold

Newbury: Lib Dem hold

Nottingham: Lab hold

Peterborough: NOC gain from Lab

Plymouth: Lab hold

Reading: Lab hold

Slough: Lab hold

Southend: NOC hold

The Wrekin: Lab hold

Thurrock: Lab hold

Torbay: Lib Dem hold

Warrington: Lab hold

Windsor and Maidenhead: NOC gain from Lib Dem

Wokingham: Con gain from Lib Dem

'Thirds' elections

Bristol: Lab hold

Hull: Lab hold

New authorities

Herefordshire: Lib Dem

Malvern Hills: NOC

Medway Towns: NOC

Seat gains/losses in all councils

CON +240

LAB -30

LIB DEM -210.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.