Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
Members of the Local Government Task Force who will promote the ...
Members of the Local Government Task Force who will promote the

Movement for Innovation construction principles among local

authorities, have been announced by the DETR construction minister,

Nick Raynsford.

Mr Raynsford welcomed the formation of the Local Government Task

Force and said:

'Since the publication of 'Rethinking Construction' in July 1988,

there has been a sea change in attitudes to construction procurement.

There is now a tremendous opportunity for local government to reap

the rewards of better more cost effective construction. This is the

mission for the Local Government Task Force.'

Each member has been chosen for their personal commitment, enthusiasm

and practical knowledge of innovative construction procurement and I

am sure that their expertise and energy will be an invaluable lead

for other local authorities. The establishment of the Task Force

marks the beginning of the process of spreading the Movement for

Innovation to local authorities.

'Local authorities are major clients for construction. Their

determination to introduce innovative methods of procurement will be

a key driver for change in construction. They will help tap the

tremendous potential to improve authorities' ability to meet the

widespread need for better housing, schools, transport and other



1. The vhairman of the Local Government Task Force is Ted Cantle, the

chief executive of Nottingham City Council.

2. The members are:

Andy Beard

Head of Architecture

Sheffield City Council

Iain Beaton

Assistant Chief Executive

St Helens MBC

Eamon Boylan

Director of Housing

Manchester City Council

Steve Bundred

Chief Executive

Camden LBC

Tim Byles

Chief Executive

Norfolk CC

Ted Cantle

Chief Executive

Nottingham City Council

Graham Farrant

Director of Housing

Birmingham City Council

Noel Foley

Procurement Manager

Hackney LBC

Gabrielle Griesbach

Head of DLO

Reading BC

John Hobson

Director,Construction Directorate


John Hesp

Head of Corporate Contracts

Southampton City Council

Michael Irvine

Director of Housing

Southwark LBC

Martin Pearson

Chief Executive

Horsham DC

Michael Pitt

Chief Executive

Kent CC

Terry Rogers

Director of Housing and Sports Development

Corporation of London

Paul Russell

Chief Executive

Woking DC

Wendy Thomson

Director of Inspection

Audit Commission

David Young

Director of Environmental Services

Oxfordshire CC

Other members from the other 'strands' of the Movement for Innovation

have been asked to join including:

Mike Burt

M4I Board member

HM Treasury

Alan Crane


M4I Board

David Crewe

Chief Executive

Housing Forum

Officials who will also attend include:

Mike Ashley

Local Government Association

Martin Lipson


Mukund Patel


Richard Footitt

DETR (Best Value)

2. A letter signed jointly by the deputy prime minister and

Jeremy Beecham last July, announced that a Local Government Task

Force would be set up to promote the Movement for Innovation among

local authorities and encourage the implementation of the principles

of the report 'Rethinking Construction'.

3. The Local Government Initiative is the fourth strand in a wider

'Movement for Innovation' led and co-ordinated by a Steering Group

chaired by Nick Raynsford, minister for construction, which reports

to the deputy prime minister, and which includes amongst its members

Alan Milburn, chief secretary to the treasury. The three other

strands are:

The 'Movement for Innovation' (M4I) Board, chaired by Alan Crane,

which promotes innovation across the industry as a whole.

The 'Housing Forum', chaired by Michael Pickard, which promotes

the initiative amongst housebuilders and their clients.

The 'Achieving Excellence' programme which promotes the initiative

amongst government departments and agencies and their contractors: is

overseen by an interdepartmental task force chaired by Steve Robson,

2nd procurement secretary at the treasury established in April this


  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.