Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
Harrow LBC chief executive Anthony Redmond has been appointed chief executive and chair of the Commission for Local...
Harrow LBC chief executive Anthony Redmond has been appointed chief executive and chair of the Commission for Local Administration in England.

Mr Redmond will also succeed Edward Osmotherly, who retires on 1 September.

The new appointment will take effect from 12 November 2001.

He said: 'This represents a tremendous opportunity for me and I am very much looking forward to the challenge.

'I will be leaving behind an organisation which is committed to delivering

good quality services in a rapidly changing environment and for which I feel great affection.'

Biographical Note

Mr Redmond has been chief executive at Harrow LBC since 1987. His work in local government began in 1962 when he joined Liverpool City Council immediately after leaving school. Prior to his appointment as chief executive at Harrow, he was the borough treasurer and deputy chief executive at Knowsley MBC. In addition to his duties as chief executive, Mr Redmond is also treasurer to the West London Waste Authority, a past director of the North West London TEC, a member of the Queen Mary Westfield College (University of London) public policy advisory board and chair of the UK treasury management panel.


The Commission for Local Administration in England (the CLA or Local Government Ombudsman) was established by Part III of the Local Government Act 1974. Its main purpose is to conduct investigations into complaints, from members of the public, of injustice caused through maladministration by local authorities (principally district, borough, city and county councils) and certain other bodies. It is also empowered to provide advice and guidance to local authorities on good administrative practice.

The commission comprises three commissioners for local administration ('ombudsmen'), each responsible for investigating complaints in one area of the country, the parliamentary commissioner for administration, and investigatory and support staff. Its work is funded by a grant made annually by the DTLR.

The local government ombudsman service is impartial, independent (of central and local government) and free to complainants. Where it is found that a complainant has suffered injustice caused through maladministration, the ombudsman makes a recommendation to put it right.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.