Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
The LGA welcomed Douglas Henderson, minister for Europe's confirmation of its nominees for the UK delegation to the...
The LGA welcomed Douglas Henderson, minister for Europe's confirmation of its nominees for the UK delegation to the Committee of the Regions (CoR). The CoR is the European Union's assembly of local and regional authority representatives.

Women's representation has been considerably boosted and female councillors now comprise half of the new UK membership. The UK delegation consists of elected local councillors and they are given a four year mandate.

Established by the Maastricht Treaty, the CoR provides for the consultation of local and regional authorities within the European Union on issues affecting them giving formal recognition to the role of sub-national government in the EU decision-making process. The CoR's chief function is to comment on the European Commission's and European Council's proposals, communications and reports which impact on the work of local authorities.

The CoR is made up of 222 representatives of local and regional government from the 15 members sates. Unlike the European parliament which produces Opinions on all legislative proposals, the areas in which the CoR can issue an Opinion are set out. The commission, the council and the European parliament have the right to consult the CoR. They are obliged to consult the body on a number of areas including: education and youth, culture, public health, economic and social cohesion, trans-European transport.

Pending the ratification of the Amsterdam Treaty the legislative proposals on which the CoR must be consulted have been extended to cover: employment, social affairs, environment, transport, European Social Fund, and cross-border cooperation.

This is the second mandate for the CoR, which first met in 1994.

Ken Bodfish, Chair of the LGA European and International Panel said:

'Local authorities are very important as a focus for community stability at a time of huge institutional, demographic and cultural changes in Europe. The CoR provides a link between those local communities and national and international structures of government.

We are delighted with Douglas Henderson's confirmation of the Local Government Association's nominees to the EU Committee of the Regions. It demonstrates a proper degree of trust to ensure a true partnership between local and central government.'

In his statement in parliament, Douglas Henderson said:

'In making these nominations, we have sought, in consultation with local government, to provide a delegation which is appropriately representative of all of the United Kingdom, which provides expertise, and which takes account of the current political balance within the United Kingdom local government.'

Committee of the Regions - UK Delegation

Full Members

Cllr John Battye, Oldham MBC

Cllr Kenneth Bodfish, Brighton and Hove Unitary Council

Cllr Albert Bore, Birmingham City Council

Cllr The Lord Bowness of Warlingham CBE DL, Croydon LBC

Cllr Ruth Coleman, North Wiltshire DC

Cllr Sir Simon Day, Devon CC

Cllr Reg Empey OBE, Belfast City Council

Cllr George Gill CBE, Gateshead MBC

Cllr Dennis Haughey, Cookstown DC

Cllr Hugh Henry, Renfrewshire Council

Cllr Jane Hore, Suffolk CC

Cllr Ian Hudghton, Angus Council

Cllr Linda Matthews, Merthyr Tydfil CBC

Cllr Christine May, Fife Council

Cllr Peter Peacock, Highland Council

Cllr Sir Dennis Pettitt, Nottinghamshire CC

Cllr Sally Powell, Hammersmith and Fulham LBC

Cllr Brian M Smith, Torfaen CBC

Cllr The Lord Tope CBE, Sutton LBC

Cllr Dr James Walsh, West Sussex CC

Cllr Pam Warhurst, Calderdale MBC

Cllr Sir Ronald Watson CBE, Sefton MBC

Cllr Paul White DL, Essex CC

Cllr Milner Whiteman, Bridgnorth DC

Alternate Members

Cllr Keith Billington, Rotherham MBC

Cllr Diane Bunyan, Bristol Unitary Council

Cllr Sue Davies, Wrekin DC

Cllr Margaret Eaton, Bradford City Council

Cllr John R P Evans, Caerphilly CBC

Cllr John Fee, Newry and Mourne

Cllr Toby Harris, Haringey LBC

Cllr Dr Ruth Henig JP, Lancashire CC

Cllr Marcus Humphrey CBE DL, Aberdeenshire Council

Cllr Suzie Kemp, Newbury Unitary Council

Cllr Gordon Keymer, Tandridge DC

Cllr David Martin, Sefton MBC

Cllr Sarah McCarthy-Fry, Portsmouth Unitary Council

Cllr Corrie McChord, Stirling Council

Cllr Dr Joan Mitchell, Dumfries and Galloway Council

Cllr Peter Moore, Sheffield City Council

Cllr Ms Irene Oldfather, North Ayrshire Council

Cllr George Savage, Craigavon

Cllr Ros Scott, Suffolk CC

Cllr Peter Soulsby, Leicester Unitary Council

Cllr Ian F C Swithenbank CBE, Northumberland CC

Cllr Elizabeth Tucker, Hereford Unitary Council

Cllr Keith Whitmore, Manchester City Council

Cllr Eurig Wyn, Gwynedd County

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.