Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
A new board member has been appointed to the Funding Agency for Schools to fill the remaining vacancy arising on 1 ...
A new board member has been appointed to the Funding Agency for Schools to fill the remaining vacancy arising on 1 April 1998.

He is George Phipson, head of West Hatch GM School in Essex and currently chairman of the Association of Heads of Grant Maintained Schools.


1. Mr Phipson will fill one of the vacancies arising due to the

expiry on 31 March 1998 of the appointments of Brother Francis Patterson, Dr Arthur Hearnden and Professor Arthur Pollard. Stella Earnshaw and John Chastney have already been appointed by the secretary of state to fill the other two vacancies arising on 1

April 1998.

2. Mr Phipson has not carried out any political activity in the last five years and does not hold any other ministerial appointments.

3. The secretary of state may appoint a board to the agency of between 10 and 15 members, including the chairman. The board currently has a full complement of 15 members.

4. The positions are unsalaried but each member is entitled to claim a per diem allowance of£155 for each day on which they transact agency business. Travel and other expenses may be claimed.

5. The FAS was established on 1 April 1994 to administer and monitor the grant payments to grant- maintained schools.

6. The FAS's current functions will end in 1999.


Sir Anthony Tippet Retired Vice Admiral in the Royal Navy and, (Chairman) until 1995, General Manager of the Hospitals for Sick Children Health Authority. Former Chief Executive of Great Ormond Street Hospital.

Rev Dr Alan Billings Former deputy leader of Sheffield City Council and now parish priest in Kendal

Mr Rodney East Chartered Accountant by training, with a number of years experience in high street retailing, property, banking, shipping & transport

Dr Arthur Hearnden OBE* Former General Secretary, Independent Schools Joint Council

Mr Roy Jobson Chief Education Officer, Manchester City Council.

Professor David Johns Vice-Chancellor and Principal, University of Bradford.

Miss Louise Kidd Former Principal/Chief Executive Rutland College

Mrs Lesley King MBE Headteacher, St Joseph's RC GM Primary School, Aldershot

Mrs Cynthia Lake Chairman of Governors of Queenswell Infant and Junior Schools, Whetstone;Hon Secretary to the National Governors Council

Mr Robert Lloyd Headteacher, Hendon School (GM)

Prof David Newton Education and management development consultant; Governor and

Chairman of the Finance Committee of Deer Park GM School, Cirencester; former Vice-Principal of the Royal Agricultural College

Dr Francis Patterson OBE* Headteacher, St Francis Xavier's College, GM School, Liverpool Prof Arthur Pollard* Education spokesman on the East Riding of

Yorkshire Unitary Authority; former Professor of English at Hull University; member of the Church of England General Synod Board of Education.

Ms Linda Wedgbury Business Consultant

Mr Robin Wendt Former Secretary of the Association of County Councils and former Chief Executive of Cheshire County Council

NEW MEMBERS FROM 1 APRIL 1998 (to replace those*

whose appointments expire on 31 March 1998)

Mr John Chastney Accountant

Mrs Stella Earnshaw Former Head of Regional Finance Unit, Shell International

Mr George Phipson Headteacher, West Hatch GM School, Essex; Chairman of the Association of Heads of Grant Maintained Schools

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs