Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
Twenty one new council members were elected to the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy (CIPFA) Co...
Twenty one new council members were elected to the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy (CIPFA) Council in their elections last week. This year witnessed a good turnout with 4,301 members voting in the elections.

CIPFA's Institute Council is responsible for the overall governance of the institute, taking a key role in directing its affairs. The Institute Council comprises the officers of the institute (president, vice president, past president and honorary treasurer, 21 members are elected annually by the membership, one nominee of each of the six CIPFA mainland regions and up to eight members who are co-opted by the council.

Election candidates are categorised in four groups local government, health, audit, and other. The results are as follows:

Local government:Diane Colley, Rugby BC

Margaret Rawding, Blackpool BC

Mike Shaw, Gateshead MBC

Tony Redmond, Harrow LBC

John Butler, East Riding of Yorkshire Council

Chris Bilsland, Somerset CC

Tim Day, Stafford BC

A L McLean, Aberdeenshire Council

L M James, Bridgend CBC

Health:Hilary Daniels, West Norfolk Primary Care Group

Jaki Meeking, South West Health Authorities

Audit:Chris Hurford, The Audit Commission

Mike Barnes, The Audit Commission

Other:Jeff Pipe, ICL

Cathy Bell, Woronora Consulting

Roger Tabor, Post Office

Stephen Sheen, Price Waterhouse and Co

John Sandbach, Liverpool Metropolitan University

M S Chambers, States of Jersey

A E Britton, Leeds Metropolitan University

G Vinten, Southampton Institute

Chris Hurford topped the poll in this years elections with 2,783 votes and Jeff Pipe came second with 2,473 votes.

Margaret Pratt, president of CIPFA commented:

'We are very pleased with this year's results. The long running success of the institute depends on the quality and experience council members bring to their duties. I am sure the newly elected council members will share the commitment of their predecessors and sustain the successes of the institute in the forthcoming year.'

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.