Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
More than half of all councils in England would qualify for 'trust status' according to the government's own criter...
More than half of all councils in England would qualify for 'trust status' according to the government's own criteria.

Briefing papers obtained by LGC in July revealed that the government was proposing to hand back powers to selected London and metropolitan boroughs (LGC, 8 July).

The government laid down nine criteria for boroughs to meet before qualifying. On this basis seven councils were identified. London boroughs had to meet seven of the criteria and mets would have to meet four (LGC, 15 July).

District and county councils were originally ruled out of the scheme because of the review.

The government later said the idea had been dropped and was now only 'archaeologically interesting'.

But in response to a parliamentary question from Jack Straw, originally tabled in July and published last week, the government identifies which councils meet the nine criteria required for 'trust council' status.

Applying the same qualifying threshold for mets to district councils means a total of 216 authorities would qualify. The data also suggests that four more metropolitan councils would qualify.

Mets that would qualify are: Bolton, Stockport, Trafford, Wigan, St Helens, Rotherham, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Sunderland, Birmingham, Walsall and Wolverhampton.

Top 13 districts which meet six or more of the criteria are: Derby City, Mid Bedfordshire, Bracknell, Hartlepool, Exeter, New Forest, Stevenage, Kings Lynn and West Norfolk, Hambleton, Cherwell, St Edmundsbury, Babergh, and Spelthorne.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.