Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
Nearly 11.5 million people in England's deprived areas are set to get ...
Nearly 11.5 million people in England's deprived areas are set to get

a£2bn share of the UK's£2.5bn allocation of the European Objective 2 funds.

The proposed map of where the money goes - which has today been

presented to the European Commission for approval - will help boost

areas across the country suffering from industrial decline, rural

underdevelopment, urban deprivation and decline in the fishing

industry over the next seven years.

In a joint announcement with the department of trade and industry,

deputy prime minister John Prescott said:

'This is good news for England's deprived communities, giving

them a route out of disadvantage and deprivation. With this final

part of our sustainable regeneration package in place, we now have a

comprehensive programme for ensuring that those areas and regions

which need help will get it.'

Regions and regeneration minister Hilary Armstrong said:

'This proposed Objective 2 map will work in harmony with the Single

Regeneration Budget, the Assisted Areas map and other

regeneration-based schemes to create a co-ordinated approach to

regional development.

'We have attempted to ensure fair coverage between industrial, rural,

urban and fisheries areas that present good opportunities for

regeneration. I look forward to seeing the programmes that are

developed to deliver regeneration in these areas once we have agreed

the map with the European Commission.'

The Objective 2 funds combine with Objectives 1 and 3 - both worth£3bn - and transitional funds to give UK regions a total£10bn of European money from 2000 to 2006.

Under these proposals Londoners will receive a 50 per cent increase

in coverage - bringing the total to more than 850 000 people. Also

set to benefit are 2.3 million people in the North East, 2.2 million

in the North West, 90,000 in the South East, 580,000 million in the

South West, 1.1 million in East Midlands, 2.4 million in West

Midlands, 460,000 in the East of England and 1.5 million in Yorkshire

and the Humber. A detailed list of how many people will benefit from

the districts in each region is attached.

If the commission agrees the proposed map, the North East, North West

and the West Midlands could each receive over£400m over the

next seven years. Yorkshire and the Humber could receive more than

£250m, London could receive over£150m, East Midlands

around£200m, the East of England around£80m; the

South West around£100m and the South East around£15m.


The Structural Funds Regulations covering 2000-2006 were agreed at

the Berlin Council in March 1999. The total Structural Funds

allocation for the UK will be£10bn, of which£3bn will cover

Objective 1.

Objective 2 covers industrial, rural, urban and fisheries areas in

need of regeneration. New programmes will run from 2000-2006. Once

the European Commission has approved the UK proposals these

programmes will be drawn up by the regions.

Current Objective 2 and 5b areas that lose Objective 2 status in the

new map will receive transitional funding. In total there is about

£0.5bn available over the next six years.

Objective 1 status is given to areas most in need, measured as those

with a GDP of less than 75% of the EU average. Merseyside has

maintained Objective 1 status for 2000-2006 and Cornwall and South

Yorkshire (plus West Wales and the Valleys) have gained it for the

first time.

The regional partnerships in Cornwall, South Yorkshire and Merseyside

have commenced drawing up the Single Programming Documents setting

out the objectives and priorities for their programmes. These are

required to be submitted to the EU by the end of October.

People to benefit from proposed Objective 2 map

East Midlands 1,104,161

Ashfield 73,035 Bassetlaw 32,099

Bolsover 56,949 Boston 18,902

Chesterfield 54,346 Derby City 55,463

Derbyshire Dales 19,078 East Lindsey 123,058

Leicester City 110,033 Lincoln 19,533

Mansfield 75,695 Newark and Sherwood 17,480

North East Derbyshire 14,172 North Kesteven 86,639

Nottingham 270,504 West Lindsey 77,175

East of England 463,766

Breckland 113,654 Great Yarmouth 29,499

King's Lynn and West Norfolk 3,139 Luton 141,501

North Norfolk 25,048 Southend-on-Sea 69,888

Waveney 81,037

London 852,586

Barking and Dagenham 20,534 Bexley 14,202

Brent 25,197 Ealing 15,981

Enfield 64,919 Greenwich 39,329

Hackney 134,045 Hammersmith and Fulham 18,899

Haringey 87,711 Havering 11,174

Newham 184,926 Tower Hamlets 176,635

Waltham Forest 59,034

North East 2,267,422

Alnwick 31,110 Berwick-upon-Tweed 26,591

Blyth Valley 79,958 Castle Morpeth 11,215

Chester-le-Street 51,785 Darlington 60,871

Derwentside 38,813 Durham 43,495

Easington 95,213 Gateshead 189,756

Hartlepool 92,127 Middlesbrough 146,778

Newcastle-upon-Tyne 255,795 North Tyneside 174,394

Redcar and Cleveland 139,785 Sedgefield 68,262

South Tyneside 147,276 Stockton on Tees 179,009

Sunderland 283,824 Teesdale 9,961

Tynedale 39,065 Wansbeck 62,221

Wear Valley 40,119

North West 2,162,277

Allerdale 95,658 Barrow-in-Furness 43,395

Blackburn with Darwen 93,882 Blackpool 81,869

Bolton 115,819 Bury 11,415

Carlisle 8,540 Copeland 41,995

Eden 29,120 Ellesmere Port and Neston 35,262

Halton 107,798 Lancaster 44,260

Manchester 416,574 Oldham 87,317

Preston 57,122 Ribble Valley 16,329

Rochdale 111,325 Salford 217,058

South Lakeland 32,309 Stockport 41,024

Tameside 175,033 Trafford 20,430

West Lancashire 38,639 Wigan 181,752

Wyre 58,352

South East 88,788

Dover 4,921 Hastings 33,913

Thanet 49,954

South West 575,867

Bristol 62,614 North Devon 86,199

Plymouth 187,319 South Hams 79,344

Torbay 50,147 Torridge 54,432

West Devon 46,438 West Somerset 9,373

West Midlands 2,429,120

Birmingham 875,028 Bridgnorth 50,847

Cannock Chase 24,937 Coventry 193,593

Dudley 110,812 East Staffordshire 44,016

Herefordshire, county of 109,900 Malvern Hills 21,514

Newcastle-under-Lyme 30,884 North Warwickshire 26,738

Nuneaton and Bedworth 33,134 Oswestry 11,975

Sandwell 242,053 Shrewsbury and Atcham 4,355

Solihull 43,526 South Shropshire 15,196

Staffordshire Moorlands 8,794 Stoke on Trent 172,557

Walsall 212,056 Wolverhampton 197,207

Yorkshire and the Humber 1,547,690

Bradford 236,700 Craven 36,338

East Riding of Yorkshire 43,631 Hambleton 6,828

Harrogate 12,568 Kingston upon Hull 266,775

Kirklees 205,732 Leeds 124,081

North East Lincolnshire 142,523 North Lincolnshire

5,975 Richmondshire 47,261 Ryedale 13,359

Scarborough 105,658 Wakefield 300,261

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.