Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment


Isle of Wight Council has appointed Steve Beynon as chief executive. He is currently the authority’s director of children’s services. Mr Beynon will continue to maintain a strategic overview of the work of the children’s services directorate and will play a key role in assisting in the recruitment of a new children’s services director.

Derek Barker, chief executive at Conwy CBC since 1996, has retired after 12 years in the role. Mr Barker began his career at Flintshire CC and then joined the former Delyn BC as a solicitor. After some time in private practice, he joined the former Colwyn BC as a senior solicitor in 1983, rising to assistant chief executive and then chief executive and town clerk in 1992. Bethan Jones, corporate director (improvement and development) and deputy chief executive, will act as interim chief executive.

Northumberland Council has made Richard Robson executive director of place. He will be responsible for community services including libraries, housing, roads, street cleaning, waste and recycling and improving customer service. Mr Robson is currently chief executive of Tynedale DC.

Gateshead Council’s new transport services manager is Alasdair Tose. He will be responsible for overseeing the council’s fleet of vehicles and equipment. He has four years of commercial experience in the private sector. He also spent time with the Armed Forces as a supply officer in the Royal Air Force, which included a tour of duty in Afghanistan. Mr Tose was previously retail operations manager for Fenwick Ltd and started work last month.


Joyce Thacker is the new strategic director of children and young people at Rotherham MBC. She was previously senior director for children and young people’s services. Ms Thacker joined the council in 2006 as a senior director, initially in a joint role, working as executive director of Connexions South Yorkshire. Before this, Ms Thacker was head of youth service at Bradford City MDC. She replaces Dr Sonia Sharp, who has joined Sheffield City Council in a similar role.


Jenny Mayne, head of strategic housing at South Norfolk DC, has been appointed director of community services for Broadland Housing Association. Before this she was an area services manager at Bristol City Council. Ms Mayne is a member of the Chartered Institute of Housing.


David Wilde is the new chief information officer at Westminster City Council. He was previously chief information officer and head of information and customer services at Waltham Forest LBC.


Crawley BC has promoted Chris Harris to head of amenity services, responsible for a range of public-facing services including parks and gardens, Streetscene, community wardens and waste and recycling collections. Mr Harris joined the council in 2001 as customer services manager. He began his career at Guildford BC in the parks and countryside division.


Linda Martin has joined Brent LBC as its first ever head of service development and commissioning in the housing and community care department. She has worked at Enfield LBC since 2001, most recently as acting head of procurement and commissioning. Before this Ms Martin was strategic joint commissioner and joint commissioner for learning disabilities at Enfield LBC.

Daljit Lally is the first executive director for adult social care at the new unitary Northumberland Council. She is currently executive director for adult social care at Northumberland CC.

The new director for social care and learning at Bracknell Forest BC is Lesley Heale. She was previously service director for younger adults at Birmingham City Council. Ms Heale replaces Tony Eccleston, who is retiring after 11 years with the council.


Professor Andrew Motion has been appointed as the new chair of the Museums, Libraries & Archives Council for a four-year period. He replaces Mark Wood.


The South East England Regional Assembly’s chief executive, Paul Bevan, is leaving his post on 30 September after nine years. As the assembly’s first employee, he created and developed the organisation’s regional planning, advocacy and scrutiny capacity. Finance and administration director Diana Pogson will act as interim managing director until April 2009.

Anthony Browne is the new policy director at the Greater London Authority. Mr Browne, a former national journalist, is currently director at the Policy Exchange thinktank.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.