Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

CCA elects Gordon as chair

  • Comment

Hertfordshire CC leader Robert Gordon (Con) has been elected chairman of the Conservative Councillors’ Association (CCA).  

Cllr Gordon topped a CCA poll held on Friday 11 February, seeing off challenges from Bracknell Forest BC leader Paul Bettison and Tendring DC’s Stephen Mayzes. He will serve a maximum term of three years.

The Hertfordshire leader replaces Kensington & Chelsea RBC leader, Sir Merrick Cockell (Con), who spent three years at the helm.

Other appointments included Coventry City Council Conservative group leader Ken Taylor OBE as deputy chairman; Hillingdon LBC deputy leader David Simmonds as treasurer and Gloucestershire CC leader Mark Hawthorne as county representative.

There were also places on the panel for Bexley LBC leader, Teresa O’Neill, as London borough representative and Three Rivers DC Conservative group leader, Chris Hayward, as non-metropolitan representative.

The move follows Cllr Gordon being elected chairman of the County Councils Network, which represents 38 county and unitary councils in shire England, in September 2010.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.