Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Bournemouth council leader elected

  • Comment

The Conservative group on Bournemouth BC will be led by Peter Charon following his election, it has been announced.

Cllr Charon, a former property developer and landlord, becomes the new leader of the council - subject to full council approval later in this month.

Bournemouth had been leaderless after Stephen MacLoughlin (Con) resigned while allegations are investigated about material found on his council computer. His deputy John Beesley (Con) was unable to take over as leader, even on an interim basis, as he too is under investigation, concerning whether he properly declared his friendship with a planning consultant.

According to the Bournemouth Echo, before Sunday night’s Conservative meeting, Cllr Robert Lawton had been favourite to be elected.

The paper reports that Cllrs Nick King, Bob Chapman, Malcolm Davies, David Smith and Anne and Michael Filer had been supporting Cllr Lawton.

Among those said to be backing Cllr Charon, who represents Redhill and Northbourne, were Cllrs Ian Lancashire, Beverley Dunlop, John Beesley, Basil Ratcliffe and Elaine and Rod Cooper.

Cllr Peter Charon was first elected in Bournemouth in May 2007.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.