Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

The 10 councils that turned down a four-year finance deal

  • Comment

Three county councils, one London borough, and six districts turned down the government’s offer of a four-year funding settlement.

Communities secretary Sajid Javid revealed yesterday that 97% of councils had taken up the offer of gaining some certainty about the levels of funding they are likely get.

LGC has obtained a list of the 10 local authorities which decided against a deal - three of which are in Hampshire. The councils, in alphabetical order, are:

  • Brentwood BC
  • Cambridgeshire CC
  • Cannock Chase DC
  • East Hampshire DC
  • Harrow LBC
  • Hart DC
  • Havant BC
  • Lancashire CC
  • South Derbyshire DC
  • Surrey CC

LGC reported in October how Lancashire and Surrey had decided not to take up the four year deal.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.