Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Myers knighted in Queen's Birthday Honours list

  • Comment

A former chief executive of two London boroughs heads the list of local government figures in the Queen’s Birthday honours list.

Sir Derek Myers (pictured) was chief executive of Kensington & Chelsea RBC from 2000 until last year and from 2011 was also joint chief for Hammersmith & Fulham LBC.

He is also a former chair of the Society of Local Authority Chief Executives and Senior Managers and of London’s improvement partnership, Capital Ambition.

Other local government honours include the following.


Alistair Buchan, chief executive, Orkney Islands Council.

Cllr Andrew Carter (Con), former joint leader Leeds City Council.

Alistair Dodds, former chief executive, Highland Council.

Dawn Eastmead, deputy director, national fire policy, Department for Communities and Local Government.

Cllr Paul Tilsley (Lib Dem), former deputy leader, Birmingham City Council.

Cllr Robert Wellington (Lab), leader, Torfaen CBC.


Norman Atkinson, former senior service manager, Angus Council.

Christopher Bilsland, former chamberlain, City of London Corporation. 

Cllr Michael Carr (Lab), Middlesbrough Council, services to education and regeneration.

Lesley Hastie, team leader, Local Government Pension Scheme and local intelligence, Department for Education.

David Hill, chief executive, Milton Keynes Council.

Cllr Chris Holley (Lib Dem), former leader, Swansea City Council.

Cllr Shelagh Marshall (Con,) North Yorkshire CC, services to older people.

Thanos Morphitis, director of strategy and commissioning for children’s services, Islington LBC.

Paul Nolan, director, Mersey Forest, Cheshire West & Chester Council.

Sarah Pickup, deputy chief executive and former director of social services, Hertfordshire CC.

Mary Reid (Lib Dem), former councillor, Kingston upon Thames RBC.

Rachael Shimmin, corporate director, children and adult services, Durham CC


Cllr Ian Borthwick (Ind), baillie, Dundee City Council.

Cllr Howard Sykes (Lib Dem), former leader, Oldham MBC.

Cllr Trudy Dean (Lib Dem), leader of opposition, Kent CC.

Brian Gambles, assistant director of culture, Birmingham City Council.

Albert Henderson, former corporate director, education and communities, Inverclyde Council.

Cllr Haydn James (Con), former leader, Vale of Glamorgan Council.

Jill Stewart, head of housing and property, Moray Council.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.