Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Porter to join Lords in dissolution peerages

  • Comment

LGA chair Gary Porter has been made a life peer in the dissolution peerages list.

Lord Porter became LGA chair in June after the Conservatives took back control of the association from Labour.

He was previously leader of the Conservative group and has been leader of South Holland DC since 2003.

His elevation marks the first time the LGA has been headed by a peer since Sir Sandy Bruce-Lockhart (Con) received a peerage while in office in 2006.

There were also Conservative peerages for Elizabeth Redfern, leader of North Lincolnshire Council, Jane Scott, leader of Wiltshire Council and former Chiltern DC councillor Emma Pidding.

Watford BC’s elected mayor Dorothy Thornhill (Lib Dem) has become a peer.

She was named last month as the party’s shadow cabinet member for local government.

Another Lib Dem peerage went to former Richmond-on-Thames LBC councillor Shas Sheehan.

Former home secretary and Sheffield City Council leader David Blunkett was among the Labour peerages as was Dave Watts, former leader of St Helen’s MBC and an MP for the town until last May.

Among dissolution honours were a knighthood for Barry Norton (Con), leader of West Oxfordshire DC, which covers prime minister David Cameron’s Witney constituency, while former Islington LBC leader Margate Hodge (Lab), now MP for Barking, became a dame.

There were MBEs for Andrew Sangar and Shaffaq Mohammed, two Lib Dem councillors in former party leader Nick Clegg’s Sheffield Hallam constituency.



  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.