Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Chiefs recognised in new years honours

  • Comment

Three council chief executives received OBEs as key figures within local government were included in the new year honours list.

Jo Farrar

Jo Farrar

Jo Farrar

Bath and North East Somerset Council’s chief Dr Jo Farrar (pictured), Harlow DC’s chief Malcolm Morley, and former Hampshire CC chief Andrew Smith were all recognised for their services to local government.

Peter Fleming (Con), leader of Sevenoaks DC and former chair of the Local Government Association’s improvement and innovation board, along with former North Yorkshire CC leader John Weighell (Con) also received OBEs for services to local government.

Plymouth City Council leader Tudor Evans and Southwark LBC leader Peter John (Lab) both received OBEs for political service and services to local government as did former Leeds City Council leader Keith Wakefield (Lab) and Wolverhampton city councillor Sandra Samuels (Lab).

Durham CC’s leader Simon Henig (Lab) received an CBE for political and public service, as did Manchester City Council’s deputy leader Sue Murphy (Lab).

Wandsworth LBC’s cabinet member for education and children’s services Kathy Tracey (Con) received an OBE for services to local government.

Adult social services improvement advisor at the LGA, Sandie Keene, a former director of adult social services at Leeds City Council and past president of the Association of Directors of Adult Social Services, received an CBE for services to social care.

Other senior council officers to gain OBEs were Cornwall Council’s head of strategy, enterprise and environment Nigel Blackler for services to transport; Glasgow City Council’s executive director of financial services Lynn Brown for services to local government and charity; and former Sutton LBC strategic director of adult social services, housing, and health Dr Adi Cooper, who is now a care and health improvement advisor at the LGA, for services to adult social services.

Among those receiving MBEs was Tameside MBC’s chief executive Steven Pleasant for his services to welfare and the housing of asylum seekers and refugees.

Other seniors officers to be awarded MBEs were Enfield LBC’s head of disabled children’s services Janet Leach for services to children with special educational needs; Birmingham City Council’s head of parks Darren Share for services to the environment; and Leicester City Council’s head of library service Adrian Wills for services to the community.

The Planning Advisory Services’ programme manager Alice Lester received an MBE for services to planning.

On the members side, South Staffordshire Council’s Brian Edwards (Con) and Wandsworth LBC’s Martin Johnson (Con) both received MBEs for services to local government.

Salford City Council’s deputy mayor David Lancaster (Lab) received an MBE for services to the community and charitable services to elderly people.

Included in the list of people receiving British Empire Medals were Banbury Town Council’s civic officer Patricia Campbell (for services to local government); Carlton-in-Lindrick Parish Council’s clerk Peter Goulding (for services to the community); and Chalfont St Peter parish councillor Linda Smith (for services to local government and the community).

Communities secretary Greg Clark said in a statement that all of the individuals recognised in the new years honours list had “made an extraordinary contribution to society”.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.