Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Councillor of the year awards announced

  • Comment

Stevenage BC’s leader Sharon Taylor (Lab) has been named leader of the year at the 2016 C’llr Achievement Awards.

Bradford City MBC’s Fozia Shaheen (Lab) won the young councillor of the year prize while Marion Brighton (Con) of North Kesteven DC was honoured with the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award after 40 years as a district and parish councillor.

The awards, run by the Local Government Information Unit and specialist fund manager for local authorities and charities CCLA, were handed out in London last night.

The full list of winners is available here.

Jonathan Carr-West, chief executive of the LGiU, said the winners were “the best of the best across local government” and added: “These are the councillors who are working tirelessly to make our communities better places to live.”

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.