Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Leaders and officers in Queen's birthday honours

  • Comment

Four council leaders have been recognised in the Queen’s birthday honours list.

Judith Blake (Lab), leader of Leeds City Council becomes a CBE while Warwickshire CC leader Izzi Seccombe (Con) an OBE.

Two other leaders became MBEs: Pamela Posnett (Con), of Melton BC, and Alan Waltham (Con) of North Lincolnshire Council.

Gillian Norton, former chief executive of Richmond upon Thames LBC has become an OBE as has Sally Burlington, head of policy at the Local Government Association, for services to adult social services. Alan Gay, deputy chief executive, Leeds City Council, also receives an OBE. 

Department of Health permanent secretary Chris Wormald became a Knight Commander of the Bath. He is a former director general for local government and regeneration at the Department for Communities & Local Government.

Peter Schofield, former DCLG director general, housing and planning, became a Companion of the Order of the Bath.

Mark Boleat, former chair of the City of London Corporation’s policy and resources committee, has been knighted for services to the financial services industry and to local government.

Other awards to officers and former councillors included:


Peter Black (Lib Dem), City & County of Swansea

Chris Robbins, former leader, Waltham Forest LBC


Rodney Bass (Con), Essex CC

Thomas Hurst, chief investment officer, Sunderland City Council

Kathryn Oldham, head of resilience, civil contingencies and resilience unit, Association of Greater Manchester Authorities

Peter Richardson, chair, Derby, Derbyshire, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire Local Enterprise Partnership

Lynda Fairhurst, former head of lifelong learning, Oldham MBC


Carole Burgoyne, strategic director for people, Plymouth City Council

Janet Dullaghan, head of commissioning for children’s health and wellbeing, Peterborough City Council

Doreen Hall (Con), South Lakeland DC

Ray Howard (Con), Essex CC

Abdul Jabbar (Lab), Oldham MBC deputy leader 

Anjna Patel, principal officer, road safety and parking, Sandwell MBC

Kevin Rowland, facilitator in systems and services, Sandwell MBC

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.