Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Louise Casey and David Pearson among Queen's birthday honours

  • Comment

The civil servant who oversaw the troubled families programme and led a review into failings at Rotherham MBC has been made a dame in the Queen’s birthday honours.

Louise casey

Louise casey

Louise Casey

Dame Louise Casey, who is currently leading a review into community integration, is director general at the Department for Communities & Local Government and has been recognised for services to families and vulnerable people.

She joins a number of other senior local government figures who were recognised in the honours to mark the Queen’s ninetieth birthday, including Oldham MBC chief executive Carolyn Wilkins, who was awarded an OBE for services to local government and public sector reform.

David Pearson

David Pearson

David Pearson

David Pearson, Nottinghamshire CC’s corporate director for adult social care, health and public protection, and a past president of the Association of Directors of Adult Social Services, was recognised with a CBE, as was Colin Diamond, Birmingham City Council’s executive director of education.

A number of council leaders also received CBEs recognising their services to local government on the national stage as well as in their communities. These were Anne Western (Lab) Derbyshire CC, Philip Atkins (Con) Staffordshire CC, Paul Bettison (Con) Bracknell Forest Council, Ruth Dombey (Lib Dem) Sutton LBC.

Portsmouth City Council councillor and leader of the Local Government Association’s Liberal Democrat group Gerald Vernon Jackson was also awarded a CBE.

A number of council officers and elected members were awarded MBEs recognising their contributions to their local areas while a number of social workers were also recognised for services to children and families.

These were:

Carolyn Wilkins

Carolyn Wilkins

Carolyn Wilkins


Ruth Atkinson, communities director, Eden DC

Gillian Cooney, head of tenancy services, Greenwich RBC

Mark Jones, city and regeneration policy manager, Hull City Council

Linda O’Brien, chief executive Hertfordshire Catering Limited, Hertfordshire County Council

Margaret Shutt, festivals and events manager, Leicester City Council

Christopher Worman, parks and grounds manager, Rugby BC

Elected members:

Phillip Atkins

Phillip Atkins

Phillip Atkins

David Hodgson (Lib Dem), mayor Bedford BC

Simon Cook (Lib Dem), assistant mayor for business change, resources and the arts, Bristol City Council

Peter Hogarth (Con), Solihull MBC

Lesley Williams (Lab), Gloucestershire County Council

William (Bill) Woodhead (Con), Stockton on Tees Council

Joan Scannell (Con), Barnet LBC

Mark Healey (Con), Chair, Devon and Somerset Fire Authority

Elizabeth Eyre (Con), Worcestershire County Council

Anne western

Anne western

Anne Western

Michael Sharpe (Lab), Birmingham City Council


Social workers:

Nicola Clemo, lately social worker and service director for children’s social care, Cambridgeshire CC,

Margaret Bersey, social worker and team manager, Plymouth City Council

Taiyabur Chowdhury, lately adoption social worker, Bradford City Council

Anne Harvey, social worker, approved mental health practitioner and children’s social care service manager, Sefton MBC

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs