Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

New Year's honours for leaders, elected mayor, and London chief

  • Comment

Four council leaders, an elected mayor and one chief executive have been recognised in the New Year’s honours list.

Newham LBC chief executive Kim Bromley-Derry was awarded a CBE for services to local government, as was Doncaster MBC mayor Ros Jones (Lab).

ny honours 2017

New Year’s honours for leaders, elected mayor, and London chief

Clockwise from top: Ravi Govindia (Con), Kim Bromley-Derry and David Hodge (Con)

Surrey CC leader and Local Government Association vice chair David Hodge (Con) was recognised with a CBE for services to local government and charity, while Wandsworth MBC leader Ravi Govindia (Con) received a CBE for services to local government and the community. He has been a councillor for 34 years and leader since 2011.

Solihull MBC leader Bob Sleigh (Con) and Tendring DC leader Neil Stock (Con) were named OBEs.

Mr Bromley-Derry, who has a background in social work, has been Newham’s chief since 2010, overseeing the 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games which were held in the borough. The council has been shortlisted for LGC’s 2017 Council of the Year award.

Mr Bromley Derry said: “I am immensely proud of the work and the progress made by Newham Council over the years. This award reflects the tremendous dedication and professionalism of all of our staff and the drive and commitment of Mayor Sir Robin Wales and elected councillors in dealing with the challenges and opportunities that such a diverse and thriving borough offers.”

The list also saw a knighthood for Care Quality Commission chief executive Sir David Behan along with CBEs for Department for Communities & Local Government deputy director Paul Rowsell and local government ombudsman Jane Martin, whose term ends this month.

There were a number of awards to senior social care professionals, including a CBE for Malcolm Newsam who was most recently commissioner for children’s social care at Rotherham MBC.

Nigel Richardson, former director of children’s services at Leeds City Council, was also made a CBE while former Stockport MBC director of adult social care Terry Dafter was made an OBE.

MBEs went to Sonia Bassey-Williams, integrated early support senior manager at Cheshire West and Chester Council, and former Lincolnshire CC director of public health Anthony Hill.

Two Islington LBC staff were awarded MBEs: Catherine Blair, former director of targeted and specialist children and families services, and Candy Burgess, head of pupil services.

The CQC’s Mental Capacity Act lead, Rachel Griffiths, was awarded an MBE for services to vulnerable people.

Other councillors to receive MBEs were Birmingham City Council’s Mohammed Aikhlaq (Lab) for services to education, and Peter Reeve (Ukip), of Huntingdonshire DC, for services to local government and the community.

Rod Clifton, operations support manager at the Valuation Office Agency, received an MBE for services to council tax processes.

The full New Year’s honours list can be found here.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.