Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
Final plans for new electoral arrangements in Bedfordshire are being submitted to The Electoral Commission today (a...
Final plans for new electoral arrangements in Bedfordshire are being submitted to The Electoral Commission today (available here). The recommendations from The Boundary Committee for England mark the end of a review which began in December 2002. They include changes to division boundaries across the area.

Pamela Gordon, Chair of the Committee said: In January 2004, an eight-week period of public consultation on the draft recommendations began. The responses lead to some changes to our original proposals. The aim of the review has been to ensure that, as far as possible, one persons vote should have the same value as anothers. The improvements in electoral equality we are recommending today meet that objective without disrupting community interests.

The Electoral Commission is now responsible for deciding the outcome of the Committees recommendations and all further correspondence should be addressed to The Secretary, The Electoral Commission, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

The boundaries of all existing divisions will be subject to change. We are broadly confirming our draft recommendations as final, subject to the following amendments:

In Bedford borough, the Committee is proposing to transfer Carlton & Chellington and Stevington parishes into an amended Harrold division to better reflect community identity and improve coterminosity [3]. It is also proposing that Harrold & Sharnbrook and North East Bedford divisions should be renamed Harrold and North East Bedfordshire respectively;

In Mid Bedfordshire district, it proposes to transfer Aspley Guise district ward into an amended Woburn and Harlington division to better reflect community identity. It also proposes that Woburn division should be renamed Woburn & Harlington and that the proposed parish wards of Ivel & West and Pinnacle North should be renamed Beeston & Ivel and Fallowfield & Pinnacle respectively;

In South Bedfordshire district, it proposes to transfer Heath & Reach parish into an amended Plantation division to better reflect community identity and to improve electoral equality. It also proposes that Caddington, Dunstable and Linslade & Planets divisions should be renamed South East Bedfordshire, Dunstable Downs and Leighton Linslade Central respectively;

Our final recommendations are for a council of 52 councillors, an increase of three, representing 46 divisions, a reduction of three.


Map 1illustrates the proposed boundary between Kempston and Kempston Rural divisions, North and West parishwards and Biddenham North and Biddenham South parish wards, in Bedford borough. It also shows the proposed boundaries between De Parys, Newnham and Queens Park divisions in Bedford borough.

Map 2illustrates the proposed boundary of Sandy division and the boundaries between Ivel East, Beeston & Ivel, Fallowfield & Pinnacle South parish wards in Mid Bedfordshire district.

Draft recommendations, published on 13 January 2004.

Large map 1, illustrates the parish ward changes to Kempston and Biddenham, and boundaries between De Parys, Newham and Queens Park division.

Large map 2, illustrates the proposed boundary of Sandy, in Mid Bedfordshire.

A coterminous division is one which is made up of entire district or borough wards. Coterminosity across the county is calculated by the percentage of divisions that are made up of entire district or borough wards.

The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.