Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
Final plans for new electoral arrangements in Oxfordshire are being submitted to The Electoral Commission today (av...
Final plans for new electoral arrangements in Oxfordshire are being submitted to The Electoral Commission today (available here). The recommendations from The Boundary Committee for England mark the end of a review which began in February 2003. They include changes to division boundaries across the area.

Pamela Gordon, Chair of the Committee said: In January 2004, an eight-week period of public consultation on the draft recommendations began. The responses lead to some changes to our original proposals. The aim of the review has been to ensure that, as far as possible, one persons vote should have the same value as anothers. The improvements in electoral equality we are recommending today meet that objective without disrupting community interests.

The Electoral Commission is now responsible for deciding the outcome of the Committees recommendations and all further correspondence should be addressed to The Secretary, The Electoral Commission, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

We are broadly confirming our draft recommendations as final, subject to a number of amendments. In Oxford City, we are proposing that Jericho & Osney ward is transferred from Isis division into North Oxford division and replaced with Holywell ward to better reflect community identity and improve access within the division. In Vale of White Horse, Abingdon East division should be split into two single-member divisions to improve electoral equality and to reflect community identities. Our final recommendations are for a council size of 74 councillors, an increase of four, representing 57 divisions, a decrease of 13.


Map 1illustrates in outline form the proposed divisions for Oxfordshire CC, including constituent district wards and parishes.

Map 2illustrates the proposed electoral divisions in Banbury in Cherwell district and the boundary between the proposed North Hinksey & Wytham and Wootton divisions in Vale of White Horse district.

Draft recommendations, published on 13 January 2004.

Large map 1, illustrates the proposed divisions including constituent district wards and parishes.

Large map 2, illustrates some of the above divisions in more detail.

The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.