Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
Assistance totalling£23m towards reorganisation costs incurred in 1995-96 in the county areas of Avon, Cleveland, ...
Assistance totalling £23m towards reorganisation costs incurred in 1995-96 in the county areas of Avon, Cleveland, Humberside, North Yorkshire and the Isle of Wight was announced today by local government minister David Curry.

Further allocations will be made in 1995-96 to shadow authorities when they are elected; to all eligible authorities in the light of revised estimates to be submitted at the end of September, especially in respect of redundancy and staff compensation costs and to some authorities who are being asked to look again at certain expenditures they are proposing to incur, especially on accommodation.

Authorities for whom reorganisation orders are made under Section 17 of the Local Government Act 1992 during the course of 1995-96 may also qualify under the scheme.

Mr Curry said that £27m out of the total provision of £50m will be held back for those purposes. The balance of £23m will be allocated to the following authorities:


Avon CC (£500,000), Bristol City Council (£2,800,000), Woodspring DC (£2,500,000), Bath City Council (£250,000), Wansdyke DC (£240,000), Kingswood BC (£250,000), Northavon DC (£250,000)


Cleveland CC (£500,000), Hartlepool BC (£2,750,000), Langbaurgh-on-Tees BC (£1,850,000), Middlesbrough BC (£1,160,000), Stockton-on-Tees BC (£2,280)


Humberside CC (£500,000), Hull City Council (£2,800,000), Beverley BC (£250,000), Boothferry BC (£300,000), East Yorkshire BC (£250,000), Holderness BC (£250,000), Glanford BC (£250,000), Scunthorpe BC (£250,000), Cleethorpes BC (£250,000), Great Grimsby BC (£250,000)

North Yorkshire

North Yorkshire CC (£500,000), Ryedale DC (£60,000), Selby DC (£60,000), City of York Council (£250,000)

Isle of Wight

Isle of Wight Council (£1,450,000).

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.