Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Merger talks to create largest STP in the country

  • Comment
  • North East and Cumbria leaders are in talks over merging three STPs
  • The move, if approved, would create the largest STP in the country

Health leaders are in discussions over merging three northern sustainability and transformation partnerships to create the largest in the country, Health Service Journal can reveal.



Northumberland, Tyne and Wear and North Durham STP, Durham, Darlington, Teesside, Hambleton, Richmondshire and Whitby STP and West, North and East Cumbria STP already have a number of shared work programmes.

But senior sources across the region have told HSJ that discussions have been held over merging the three STPs into a single footprint.

HSJ understands discussions are in the early stages and no decision has been made.

It would create the largest STP in the country, covering a population of 3.2m people, larger than the Greater Manchester STP that has a population of 2.8m.

HSJ understands it is unclear what formal process STPs will have to go through to have the merger completed, or who has to approve it.

The STPs have a number of shared work programmes including the North East and North Cumbria Urgent and Emergency Care Network vanguard, regional QIPP and medicines optimisation groups, and joint commissioning arrangements for ambulance services.

West, north and east Cumbria is currently the smallest STP. The local system has recently come out of the “success regime”.

The region’s 12 CCGs are forming a joint commissioning committee with delegated decision-making powers, which is due to meet for the first time later this year.

Each CCG will be represented by their chair and accountable officer at its four meetings a year. The 12 CCGs are:

  • Darlington
  • Durham Dales, Easington and Sedgefield
  • Hambleton, Richmondshire and Whitby
  • Hartlepool and Stockton
  • Newcastle Gateshead
  • North Cumbria
  • North Durham
  • Northumberland
  • North Tyneside
  • South Tees
  • South Tyneside
  • Sunderland

Each of the regions has its own plan for introducing new care models, but HSJ understands these could sit within an accountable care system across the three STPs.

These include:

  • the Northumberland accountable care organisation – due to go live in April next year
  • Better Together Sunderland multispecialty community provider
  • a west, north and east Cumbria accountable care organisation
  • the “paused” North Tyneside ACO

In a statement NHS England said: ”Across the three STPs covering north Cumbria and the north east, there are a number of common priorities.

“Local NHS leaders are looking at ways to coordinate the necessary change and improvement, while ensuring plans are implemented working with local partners reflecting needs of individual communities. This includes continuing to work closely with each council, to deliver on existing priorities.”


  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.