Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
The shortlist for the Greater London Authority chief executive includes surprise candidate Dr Wendy Thomson, the Au...
The shortlist for the Greater London Authority chief executive includes surprise candidate Dr Wendy Thomson, the Audit Commission director of inspection.

Dr Thomson, formerly chief executive of Newham LBC, joined the Audit Commission just over a year ago and is being lined up as the next controller.

Steve Bundred at Camden LBC and Barry Quirk at Lewisham LBC are the only serving chief executives to make the list.

Interim GLA chief executive Bob Chilton will be interviewed, as will Local Government Association head of social affairs John Ransford, formerly the chief executive of North Yorkshire CC, and Transport for London chief executive Anthony Mayer.

The seventh candidate is NHS executive director of operations Ron Kerr, formerly regional director of the North Thames regional health authority.The selection

panel will include an independent adviser, Tony Travers, the Greater London Group director at the London School of Economics.

The rest of the panel will be drawn from members of the appointments committee, plus all four political group leaders. There will be a single round of interviews in the third or fourth week of September, with an appointment expected in late September or early October.

But appointments committee chair Len Duvall stressed that the size and composition of the panel and the length and nature of the interviews have yet to be finalised.

The appointments committee is made up of the following assembly members:

Len Duvall (chair), Brian Coleman(deputy chair), Lynne Featherstone, Samantha Heath, Elizabeth Howlett, Darren Johnson, Eric Ollerenshaw, Trevor Phillips,

Graham Tope and Jeannette Arnold.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.