Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
Suzanne Simmons-Lewis and Janet Barber on the latest management moves and the Queen's birthday honours list ...
Suzanne Simmons-Lewis and Janet Barber on the latest management moves and the Queen's birthday honours list


Vivienne Horton has been appointed interim chief executive at Macclesfield MBC. She was previously director of resources at the council, a post she has held since 2002. A solicitor by profession, she began her local government career at Warrington BC before moving to St Helens MBC where she was assistant chief executive (legal & administration).

Sheila Rogers has been appointed chief executive of the Commission for Racial Equality. She was seconded to the CRE from the Equality Commission for Northern Ireland in 2002, and since then has worked as head of communities policy and programmes and more recently as director of strategy and delivery.


Joy Cooper has been appointed director of resources at Rother DC. She is currently assistant director of social services at Nottinghamshire CC, with special responsibility for vulnerable adults. Prior to this she held a number of senior positions in the social services department at Derbyshire CC. She replaces

Dr Pav Ramewal, who has joined Sevenoaks DC. Ms Cooper begins work on 26 July.


Jane Held has been appointed interim director of regulation at the General Social Care Council, while it undertakes the permanent recruitment to this role. Ms Held will support the growing work of the GSCC in social care workforce regulation, focusing on the drive to register all social workers by April 2005, when protection of title will come into force in England.

Mike Wardle has been appointed to the new post of deputy chief executive and director of strategy at the General Social Care Council. The new role will focus on helping to set the strategic direction for the GSCC through policy development

and business planning, and building relationships with stakeholders. He was previously director of standards and regulation at the GSCC.

Mimi Konigsberg has been appointed executive director of community services at Waltham Forest LBC. Under a secondment arrangement with Brent LBC, Ms Konigsberg had been working as interim director of social services for the past seven months. At Brent, she was assistant director of children's services for three years.



Leslie Elton, formerly chief executive, Gateshead MBC; David Henshaw, chief executive, Liverpool City Council.


Ruth Hall, chief medical officer for Wales; Robert Smith, director general, Regional Development Group, ODPM; Jonathan Tross, chief executive, Children & Family Court Advisory & Support Service, Department for Education & Skills.


Gillian Morgan, chief executive, NHS Confederation; Denise Platt, chair, Commission for Social Care Inspection.


Michael Ash, deputy director of planning, ODPM; Colin Barrow, chair, Improvement & Development Agency; Ted Cantle, chair of the Home Office community cohesion independent review team; Michael Cassidy, former chair of the Corporation of London's policy and resources committee; Andrew Seber, county education officer, Hampshire CC; Carol Sergeant, formerly managing director, Financial Services Authority; Colin Sinclair, formerly chief executive, Sunderland City Council.


Derek Boden, member, Bury MBC and leader, North West Assembly; Philip Cotterill, director, Kirklees MBC social services department; Anne Darby, substance misuse specialist health visitor, North East Lincolnshire; Julie Fleck, access officer, Greater London Authority; Edward Hartill, services to the Corporation of London and to surveying; Hugh Hastie, chief executive, Derbyshire Connexions Partnership; Ruth Hyde, chief executive, Oadby & Wigston BC; Arthur Ivatts, Department for Education & Skills and Ofsted adviser on gypsy and traveller children's education; Ronald Jacobs, formerly head, Specialist Schools Unit, School Diversity Division, Department for Education & Skills; George Key, community safety officer, Rhondda Cynon Taff CBC; Martin Molloy, formerly president, Society of Chief Librarians and director of cultural and community services, Derbyshire CC; Trevor Muir, chief executive, Midlothian Council; Michael O'Neill, director of education, North Lanarkshire Council; Keith Phillips, inspector of fire services, ODPM; David Roberts, member, Cornwall CC; David Rogers, member, East Sussex CC; Darra Singh, chief executive, Luton BC; David Singleton, head, post compulsory education division, Ofsted; George Thorley, former chief executive, South Ayrshire Council.


Elizabeth Allan, chief registrar, City of Edinburgh Council; Stephen Binns, community historian, Liverpool City Council; Ernest Chapman, member, North Cornwall DC; Nirmla Devi, Smethwick regeneration manager, Sandwell MBC; Rona Gunnell, adult literacy officer, Dumfries & Galloway Council; Gillian Hare, founder and leader, First Step Opportunity Group, Havering LBC; Robert Knight, senior grounds manager, Bexley LBC; Mohammed Nasim, member, Waltham Forest LBC; Byron Owen, services to local government and community in Swansea; Peter Price, councillor, Sheffield City Council and chair, Yorkshire Sports Board; Sarah Richards, member, Torfaen CBC; Joseph Richardson, leader, East Northamptonshire Council; James Truscott, senior road safety officer, North Lanarkshire Council; Patricia Turner, member, Mid Bedfordshire DC; William Williams, services to local government and to the community.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.