Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment
Regions minister Richard Caborn has announced the designation of a ...
Regions minister Richard Caborn has announced the designation of a

new regional chamber for Yorkshire and Humberside, whose aim is to

support, challenge and help get the most out of the recently set-up

Regional Development Agency - Yorkshire Forward.

The designation means that all English regions outside London now

have designated chambers. The chamber will consist of local

authorities, local business and others with regional interests.

In answer to a parliamentary question, Mr Caborn said:

'I am pleased to announce that we have today issued a direction to

Yorkshire Forward - the development agency for the Yorkshire and the

Humber region - designating the regional chamber for Yorkshire and

Humberside as its regional chamber.

'Regional chambers provide a mechanism through which the regional development agencies can take account of regional views and account for their activities. We expect that each RDA will have regard to the chamber's view in preparing its strategy, consult the chamber on its corporate plan and give an account of its performance to the chamber. Working together through the regional chambers local authorities, business and other partners can provide a focused voice for their region.

'There is now a designated regional chamber in each of the English

regions outside London. This marks the completion of another stage of

the government's regional agenda. The full list of regional chambers

(some of which call themselves regional assemblies) and development

agencies is as follows:

Regional Chamber Regional Development Agency

North West Regional Assembly North West Development Agency

North East Regional Assembly One North East

Regional Chamber for Yorkshire

and Humberside Yorkshire Forward

West Midlands Regional Chamber Advantage West Midlands

East Midlands Regional Assembly East Midlands Development


East of England Regional Assembly East of England Development


South West Regional Chamber South West of England Regional

Development Agency

South East England Regional Assembly South East England Development



Guidance on voluntary regional chambers was published on 7 August

1998. Copies are available on the DETR's internet site

Regional chambers are bodies that include councillors from the local

authorities in the region and representatives of the various sectors

with a stake in the region's economic social and environmental


Regional chambers for the East Midlands, West Midlands and North West

were designated on the 19 May, for the North East on 23

June, and for the South East, South West and Eastern regions

on 21 July.

Regional Development Agencies (RDAs), set up on 1 April 1999, are new

business-led bodies in each of the regions of England. They are lead

bodies at the regional level for co-ordinating inward investment,

raising people's skills, improving the competitiveness of business

and regeneration activity, all against a backdrop of sustainable

development. They have an important role in advising Government and

are presently developing a strategy for their region, covering their

whole range of responsibilities.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.